New York Habitat
New York Habitat
 +1 (212) 255-8018
Home  >   New York City Apartments  >   New York Vacation Rentals  >   New York Vacation Rental Apartment: Harlem, Studio (NY-15028)
New York Studio accommodation - Apartment reference NY-15028
  • New York Studio accommodation - living room (NY-15028) photo 1 of 8
  • New York Studio accommodation - living room (NY-15028) photo 2 of 8
  • New York Studio accommodation - living room (NY-15028) photo 3 of 8
  • New York Studio accommodation - living room (NY-15028) photo 4 of 8
  • New York Studio accommodation - living room (NY-15028) photo 5 of 8
  • New York Studio accommodation - living room (NY-15028) photo 6 of 8
  • New York Studio accommodation - living room (NY-15028) photo 7 of 8
  • New York Studio accommodation - living room (NY-15028) photo 8 of 8
  • New York Studio accommodation - bathroom (NY-15028) photo 1 of 6
  • New York Studio accommodation - bathroom (NY-15028) photo 2 of 6
  • New York Studio accommodation - bathroom (NY-15028) photo 3 of 6
  • New York Studio accommodation - bathroom (NY-15028) photo 4 of 6
  • New York Studio accommodation - bathroom (NY-15028) photo 5 of 6
  • New York Studio accommodation - bathroom (NY-15028) photo 6 of 6
  • New York Studio accommodation - other (NY-15028) photo 1 of 3
  • New York Studio accommodation - other (NY-15028) photo 2 of 3
  • New York Studio accommodation - other (NY-15028) photo 3 of 3

Description
Studio
1 Bathroom

Amenities
Air Conditioning, TV, Internet
Pets not allowed
Smoking not permitted
No elevator

Location
Harlem Manhattan New York
5th Avenue & West 125th Street (MLK Boulevard), New York, NY 10035

Rate
USD122.00
$122 / night
€109 / night
£96 / night
A$161 / night
C$161 / night
¥13,579 / night
CHF118 / night
Sleeps 2

 

Need help? Call us:

+1 (212) 255-8018

9:00am to 6:00pm

New York time

Monday thru Sunday

Review my selection (0)


Availability
start dateend datesleepsdayweekinformation
now
Jul 11 2017
2
$ 122
Euro € 109
U.K. £ 96
Aust $ 161
Can $ 161
¥en 13,579
SFranc 118
3 night minimum - WiFi Internet included - A/C is +$10/day in summer
Jul 28 2017
Sep 09 2017
2
$ 122
Euro € 109
U.K. £ 96
Aust $ 161
Can $ 161
¥en 13,579
SFranc 118
3 night minimum - WiFi Internet included - A/C is +$10/day in summer
Sep 25 2017
Oct 05 2017
2
$ 122
Euro € 109
U.K. £ 96
Aust $ 161
Can $ 161
¥en 13,579
SFranc 118
3 night minimum - WiFi Internet included - A/C is +$10/day in summer
Oct 11 2017
open
2
$ 122
Euro € 109
U.K. £ 96
Aust $ 161
Can $ 161
¥en 13,579
SFranc 118
3 night minimum - WiFi Internet included - A/C is +$10/day in summer

All dates and prices are subject to confirmation.Prices in U.S. Dollars.Prices in Euros1 US$ = 0.895 Euro € [1].Prices in British Pounds1 US$ = 0.785 U.K. £ [1].Prices in Australian Dollars1 US$ = 1.321 Aust $ [1].Prices in Canadian Dollars1 US$ = 1.323 Can $ [1].Prices in Japanese Yens1 US$ = 111.304 ¥en [1].Prices in Swiss Francs1 US$ = 0.971 SFranc [1].
Agency fees are included.

New York Habitat is a licensed real estate broker operating in compliance with New York's "Vacation Rental Ban Law" governing short term rentals.
 

Photos - Living room

Studio Vacation in Harlem (NY-15028)
New York Studio accommodation - living room (NY-15028) photo 1 of 8 New York Studio accommodation - living room (NY-15028) photo 2 of 8
New York Studio accommodation - living room (NY-15028) photo 3 of 8 New York Studio accommodation - living room (NY-15028) photo 4 of 8
New York Studio accommodation - living room (NY-15028) photo 5 of 8 New York Studio accommodation - living room (NY-15028) photo 6 of 8
New York Studio accommodation - living room (NY-15028) photo 7 of 8 New York Studio accommodation - living room (NY-15028) photo 8 of 8
Living room
  • Sheets
  • Air Conditioning
  • Window
  • TV
  • Dining table

Photos - Bathroom

Studio Vacation in Harlem (NY-15028)
New York Studio accommodation - bathroom (NY-15028) photo 1 of 6 New York Studio accommodation - bathroom (NY-15028) photo 2 of 6
New York Studio accommodation - bathroom (NY-15028) photo 3 of 6 New York Studio accommodation - bathroom (NY-15028) photo 4 of 6
New York Studio accommodation - bathroom (NY-15028) photo 5 of 6 New York Studio accommodation - bathroom (NY-15028) photo 6 of 6
Bathroom
  • Window
  • Shower
  • WC
  • Tub
  • Towels

Photos - Other

Studio Vacation in Harlem (NY-15028)
New York Studio accommodation - other (NY-15028) photo 1 of 3 New York Studio accommodation - other (NY-15028) photo 2 of 3
New York Studio accommodation - other (NY-15028) photo 3 of 3  

Apartment layout

Studio Vacation in Harlem (NY-15028)

New York Studio accommodation - apartment layout  (NY-15028)

Apartment floor plans in this site are not drawn to scale. They are an indication of the general layout and are intended as a guide only. Nothing contained in them should be considered to be an exact blueprint or statement of fact or warranty.


Features
Studio Vacation in Harlem (NY-15028)
 living roombathroom
  #1
Number of beds1 
Bed size bed (queen) 
Sheets* 
Air Conditioning* 
Window**
TV* 
Dining table* 
Shower *
WC *
Tub *
Towels *

Description
Studio Vacation in Harlem (NY-15028)

This fully furnished studio apartment is located in Uptown Manhattan in Harlem, New York. The accommodation is on the top floor of a 4-story walk-up building. It is perfectly suited for budget travelers who need a convenient place to stay.

This studio vacation rental features hardwood floors complemented by simple furniture. There is a queen size bed, desk, television, and a small table with two chairs. Please note that there is no formal kitchen in this vacation rental. However there is a mini refrigerator with a microwave and coffee maker for making simple meals. A closet provides storage space, and an iron is available. Please be aware that there is no door in the corridor separating the bedroom from the rest of the apartment.

The two windows of the apartment have western exposure.

Please note: This building is located at a busy 5th Avenue intersection. As such, street noise may be heard throughout the day and night. During the month of November, the NYC Marathon passes right in front of the building.

Harlem is an historic and animated community in Manhattan, bubbling with life and activity. In the heart of Harlem, you will be nearest a hub of sights and attractions:

  • Rite Aid: Buy household needs and medication here. Located at 35 W 125th Street. Accessible via foot.
  • Fifth Avenue Laundromat and Dry Cleaner: Wash your clothes here! Located at 1492 5th Avenue. Accessible via foot.
  • Marcus Garvey Park: Enjoy the serene environment of this tree-lined public square with swimming pool. Accessible via foot.
  • Studio Museum in Harlem: Featuring contemporary art by Africans and African-Americans, this museum is just outside the apartment door. Located at 144 W. 125th Street. Accessible via foot.
  • Apollo Theater: A must-see in Harlem, this theater catapulted many legendary stars to fame, including The Jackson 5, Marvin Gaye, Stevie Wonder, Ella Fitzgerald and Lauryn Hill. Located at 253 W 125th Street. Accessible via foot.
  • Canaan Baptist Church of Christ: A most dazzling construction of architecture, this church was once one of the country’s earliest movie theaters. Located at 132 W.

The rest of NYC is just a subway ride away from 125 Street / Lenox Avenue (2 and 3 trains, .2mi/350m) and 125 Street / Lexington Avenue (4, 5 and 6 trains; .3mi/550m).

Overall Apartment Rating (62)

starstarstarstarstar

4.0

stars
star
Apartment Experience (61)4.1
Location (61)3.9
Cleanliness (61)3.8
star
Condition, Comfort, Amenities (61)4.0
Building (61)3.9
Quiet/Loud (62)4.2

Apartment Reviews (50)

  • Review by: Anne B.
    Accommodation Rental: 15 days

    The room, simple but pleasant, well-lighted and clean was perfectly comfortable. The area was quiet with pleasant sounds of birdsong, especially mourning doves. The owner of the building was very helpful and accommodating. The home is well located for subway service, the 2 and 3 trains being very near, the 4 and 5 trains quite near, and the A train very easy to walk to. The street life is lively and interesting. And there is a market with a great variety of food and drink one half block away. I can recommend the room without reservation.

    May 25 2017
  • Review by: Ana P.
    Accommodation Rental: 10 days

    The best of all was the host, who made us feel at home.
    He helped us in everything we asked him for, with no problems at all, despite the
    difficulties in understanding each other because of the language. It is a good
    place to stay. I recommend it.

    May 17 2017
  • Review by: Anniek M.
    From:Netherlands
    Accommodation Rental: 10 days

    As a young couple traveling on a budget this was a great choice. The apartment has everything you could need and especially the privacy of having an own bathroom was very nice. The building is old which gives it a lot of charm but also means not everything is straight or in perfect condition. The owner was very friendly and had good tips of what to do and see in the city.

    The location is a bit far up in Manhattan. We were conscious of this but the subway ride was still a bit of a disappointment. It took half an hour till we were near the first sightseeing spots. The neighbourhood is colourful with a lot of people out on the streets at all times. There is a very nice supermarket around the corner and lots of easy restaurants to eat at. Once when walking home at night after we were out late at a party a patrol car stopped us to warn about the neighbourhood, but we never felt unsafe as we were always together.

    Dec 12 2016
    • Answer by:
      Accommodation Owner

      THANKS ANNIEK, Yes the building was built in the 1860's and despite the extensive work on the building there is always something. But as you found it to be it is very comfortable. Traveling in Manhattan all depends if you are on the East side and trying to get to the West. or just where are you going. Centrap Park and Museum Mile are both a short walk away. It all depends where you are going from one day to the next 3 stops you are at 42 nd street and within 3 block there are 8 subway lines, 6 bus lines and one can take you to almost any where in Manhattan without changing lines. That is the advantage of being here. A direct line to where you are going.

      I am glad to hear that you never felt unsafe. No one that I know who has visited here never had any trouble in this neighborhood.

      Dec 15 2016
  • Review by: Valerie P.
    From:France
    Accommodation Rental: 7 days

    Excellent bedding. The cupboard of the bedroom was filled with heaters, hangers and air mattress, so our clothes stayed in our luggages!! Fridge was good but if we had known that there was no kitchen, a kettle and 2 mugs would have been appreciated. In the bathroom, our products stayed on the furniture as the interior was not clean (there were a razor, a shower gel, etc, surely coming from previous guests!!). Sink, toilets and shower were suitable. Heater was covered in dust, drawer under the bed was unusable (not very clean). The building could have style if it was a bit maintained, it is a shame. Disabled people can't access the building. We are aware that the rental price is not high for New York City but still...

    May 23 2016
    • Answer by:
      Accommodation Owner

      Valerie, I hope your vacation was a good one. When i returned I found that the worker had put the air conditions on the shelf in the closet. I still don't know why he did that and I apologize for the inconvenience. the hangers were for your use and the air mattress is for extra guest. The place was never advertised with a kitchen. As the pictures show, there is only a microwave and small refrigerator. I will take your suggestion and look for a small electric kettle and mugs. Thank you. This is a four story walk up that you are right I don't think is suitable for a disable individual. Again, i apologize for the untidiness you spoke of and appreciate your comments. I will mentioned to the clean up crew and make sure that all these suggestions are kept in mind.

      Jun 21 2016
  • Review by: Laetitia R.
    Accommodation Rental: 7 days

    Landlady was very welcoming. Apartment matches website pictures and has comfortable bedding. It is located in a quiet neighborhood and between two major subway lines (15 minutes from Time Square). A good address to remember.

    May 08 2016
    • Answer by:
      Accommodation Owner

      LATETIA, Thanks for taking the time to write this review and sharing your wonderful experience here. Hope to see you again

      Jun 01 2016
  • Review by: Alesha B.
    From:Canada
    Accommodation Rental: 6 days

    A decent and affordable place to stay for our visit to NYC. The condition of the apartment didn't quite match what was online, and I'm unsure that it had been cleaned prior to our arrival. Didn't really bother us though, as it was merely a place to put our heads.

    Jan 11 2016
    • Answer by:
      Accommodation Owner

      Alesha, I assure you that the place was clean prior to your arrival. I wish I knew the specifics of your complaint.
      But I will give it great consideration for the future guest. Regarding your comment about the pictures of the apartment, I am sorry that you thought
      that, but the apartment looks and is presented just as it is in the pictures.

      Feb 04 2016
  • Review by: Cecile P.
    From:France
    Accommodation Rental: 3 days

    This apartment is very pleasant, quiet and comfortable (the mattress is great, I slept like a log!!!). It is located next to two subway stations with multiple lines that take you downtown very easily. The owner is nice and helpful (as I left on the day of the marathon and that the cabs could not easily circulate, he escorted me a few blocks further and make sure that I find a cab, he even negotiated the fare for me). I will happily come back in this apartment.

    Nov 11 2015
  • Review by: Federica T.
    From:United States
    Accommodation Rental: 6 days

    Very positive experience: I enjoyed very much the comfortable apartment I rented for a week in New York City; as for the landlord, he was always nice, patient, and helpful.

    Oct 24 2015
    • Answer by:
      Accommodation Owner

      Federica, thanks for taking the time to write the review. It is always a pleasure to know your stay here was pleasurable.

      Oct 27 2015
  • Review by: Ana Carolina D.
    From:Brazil
    Accommodation Rental: 5 days

    The owner was great and helpful. The apartment is a good option and the price is fair. You must be clear that you are in Harlem. Neighborhood has a great atmosphere, sometimes it doesn't seem very safe, but we didn't have any problem. Subway and bus station are very close, distance is not really a problem. It's not so quiet, and sometimes neighbors could be very noisy at weekends. Overall I recommend this apartment.

    Oct 19 2015
    • Answer by:
      Accommodation Owner

      Thank you very much for your review, Ana Carolina. It was a pleasure having you here. Indeed, the neighborhood has a great atmosphere and has everything you need.
      It is true that sometimes, during the weekend, the neighbors host parties in their backyard. I hope you were not too disturbed by the noise. Thank you, Kevin.

      Oct 13 2015
  • Review by: Luis Alejandro M.
    From:Colombia
    Accommodation Rental: 7 days

    The apartment is very well located, and easy to reach by subway and by bus. It would be useful to have more information about the purpuse of the deposit. Due to the short amount of time we had when we left to the airport, we didn't understand why did we have a discount in our deposit. I think the apartment is very good if you are going to move around Manhattan.

    Oct 03 2015
    • Answer by:
      Accommodation Owner

      Luis, I am glad you found that the transportation was adequate. I think it is probably overall one of the best location for transport in the city with access to three major subway lines, 5 bus routes and much more, including easy access to all airports by subway. Thank you for the recommendation and I am glad you found everything satisfactory.

      Oct 15 2015
  • Review by: Robyn G.
    From:New Zealand
    Accommodation Rental: 4 days

    Apartment was fine, everything we expected. It was clean, the owner was hospitable and greeted us on arrival. The apartment was very secure and we felt safe once inside however should have done some further research about the area as we felt unsafe at times even though it was just a short walk to the subway.

    Jul 30 2015
    • Answer by:
      Accommodation Owner

      Robyn, thanks for the review and I am please that you were happy with your stay here, "once you got into the building". As you said, the subway is only a block away and you did not mention any direct threat to you. For over 4 years, I have been hosting guest from all over the world and not once has any of the guest experienced any direct attack. Also, many of the guest walk the entire area at all times of the day and are quite comfortable doing so enjoying the numerous restaurant and entertainment venues. Notwithstanding the aforementioned, I urge everyone no matter where you are in New York or elsewhere be alert at all times and keep on trucking

      Aug 03 2015
  • Review by: Virginia G.
    From:Canada
    Accommodation Rental: 2 days

    Very pleasant studio apartment, well located in northern Central Park, next to subway stations and bus stands (but quite far from the central bus station). Quiet neighborhood, perfect for gospels on Sundays! Kevin, the owner, is very
    accommodating: we arrived very early in the morning with a night bus and he allowed us to leave our luggage there while the studio was being prepared. He also offered us to take a shower.

    Jul 20 2015
  • Review by: Rainer L.
    From:Germany
    Accommodation Rental: 3 days

    The apartment was ideal for our short stay of 3 nights. There is no full kitchen available, but that was ok with us, plus, we were already made aware of that fact from the apartment description. Great value for the money, particularly in New York. Great location, and the subway takes you in 20 minutes to Midtown. Dealing with the very friendly landlord was a breeze. Very recommendable.

    Jul 15 2015
  • Review by: Wilson T.
    From:Colombia
    Accommodation Rental: 4 days

    Great apartment, comfortable and has all the needed stuff. The location is good but could be a little scary at nights. Kevin was really nice and helpuf with all the needs.

    Jun 15 2015
    • Answer by:
      Accommodation Owner

      Thanks for the taking the time to write this review. I am please you were satisfied with the accomodation. As is the case with all of New York you have to watch yourself late at night and during the day, but I am happy to say for 4 years no one has ever experienced any difficulty at night or day around here.

      Jun 22 2015
  • Review by: Christophe O.
    From:France
    Accommodation Rental: 3 days

    The owner gave us a warm welcome and tips to help us know our way around : train, bus, shops...

    May 03 2015
  • Review by: Oscar M.
    From:Costa Rica
    Accommodation Rental: 9 days

    Beautiful, spacious and quiet, the owner was very friendly and thoughtful. The bath tub could be improve since there is not enough water pressure

    Jan 29 2015
    • Answer by:
      Accommodation Owner

      Oscar, thank you for the review. I am happy that you enjoyed your overall experience here. I equally disappointed that there was trouble with the water pressure. I will check the pressure to avoid any discomfort to any future guest. Again, thank you for your visit.

      Feb 05 2015
  • Review by: Anna F.
    From:Italy
    Accommodation Rental: 5 days

    Me and my boyfriend spent 5 nights in this apartment. The owner Kevin was very kind with us, the apartment is really good and comfortable and also the neighborhood was quiet and there was no traffic outside. The subway is close and there's also a bus stop in front of the door! It takes 20-25 minutes to reach midtown so i will totally recommend this place.

    Dec 09 2014
  • Review by: Manuela F.
    From:Italy
    Accommodation Rental: 4 days

    The apartment matched the description and the photos on the website. The host was helpful and kind. I recommend it to all who want to save some money and avoid the loud center of Manhattan

    Nov 13 2014
  • Review by: Riccardo C.
    From:Italy
    Accommodation Rental: 8 days

    Very positive. Excellent communication with the landlord, who received us very warmly. The apartment is very well connected to the city center by public transportation.

    Oct 27 2014
  • Review by: Antonio S.
    From:Spain
    Accommodation Rental: 8 days

    Our experience in this apartment was great, it met our needs perfectly for our stay in NYC. Some friends recommended it to us and they didn't make a mistake.

    Regarding the host, we only have good things to say. He was very nice and hospitable with us. He gave us good tips and advice on the city. He was always very helpful. Should we ever go back to NY, we will try to rent his apartment again.

    Oct 01 2014
    • Answer by:
      Accommodation Owner

      THANKS ANTONIO, IT WAS GREAT MEETING YOU AND I AM GLAD YOU ENJOYED YOUR STAY HERE

      Oct 16 2014
  • Review by: Melinda P.
    From:United States
    Accommodation Rental: 5 days

    This was a bright, airy studio on the 4th floor of a beautiful brownstone in the heart of Harlem. The bathroom was also large and updated, and the bed was very comfortable. I didn't try streaming, but the wifi worked fine for email and internet searching. It would be nice to have an electric alarm clock and a bedside lamp, but overall this was a great place to stay that provided the feel of New York living with easy access to the subway. I would definitely come back to stay again.

    Aug 12 2014
    • Answer by:
      Accommodation Owner

      Thanks Melinda. I appreciate your comments and review. Yes, an alarm clock and lamp would probably enhance a guest comfort. I will look to add those small items .

      Aug 18 2014
  • Review by: Roger H.
    From:Spain
    Accommodation Rental: 7 days

    All in NY was excellent. All in the appartment was ok. Thanks.

    Jun 17 2014
  • Review by: Jeremy L.
    From:France
    Accommodation Rental: 8 days

    We had a wonderful stay in this beautiful city. [The host] was always nice and helpful he give us useful tips about area. The apartment is very close to the subway and shopping. In 10 minutes you are in Manhattan!

    If we visited NYC for a second time, we would come back!!

    PS : And the bed is VERY VERY good!

    May 03 2014
    • Answer by:
      Accommodation Owner

      Jeremy thank you for the wonderful insightful review. I would change only one thing about it. My location is in Manhattan and what you probably meant to convey to future user and readers of your review is that it is 10 minutes from Midtown Manhattan. Thanks a million and I do hope to see you again.

      May 08 2014
  • Review by: Aníbal G.
    From:Uruguay
    Accommodation Rental: 14 days

    The flat was in excellent conditions, and exactly as described on the website. The owner was always nice and helpful. He's been always caring about us and willing to help.

    If we visited NYC for a second time, we would definitely come back to this flat!

    Nov 03 2013
  • Review by: Fernando L.
    From:Spain
    Accommodation Rental: 7 days

    Very good value for money. Good location (30 minutes to times square), no noise, clean, spacious.

    The host, Kevin, is very nice. Complete independence.

    Sep 28 2013
  • Review by: David A.
    Accommodation Rental: 8 days

    The owner was very kind all the time.

    Positive things: cleanliness, quiet place, the owner was very kind all the time and showed permanent availability

    Poor things: Continuous annoying noise from fire alarm devices, although the apartment was nice, the building had a lot of things to improve, the location could be better (but this is not a thing that can be changed).

    Sep 21 2013
    • Answer by:
      Accommodation Owner

      David, thanks for your review. The smoke detector battery needed replacement. sorry you did not tell me, I found out after you left and replaced it.

      Usually, people find the location to be accessible to the rest of the city without any problem, 5 subway stops to Times Square the center of Manhattan.

      I am constantly fixing and working to make things better and more comfortable for the guest.

      Sep 23 2013
  • Review by: Emmanuelle C.
    From:France
    Accommodation Rental: 3 days

    The host was very friendly, hospitable and accommodating. Comfortable accommodation, very good bed.

    Only negative points:
    - the kitchen: I couldn't make meals. There was just a fridge and a microwave, no dishes. I was told from the start, but it wasn't convenient.
    - wifi connection a bit slow

    I enjoyed the neighborhood in the daytime, I was glad to explore this side of NYC. But as a woman on my own, I didn't feel very comfortable going for a walk in the evening.

    Overall, I had a very nice stay and I'll choose New York Habitat again if I go back to New York.

    Aug 15 2013
    • Answer by:
      Accommodation Owner

      Thank you Emmanuelle. There is not much to walk to in the neighborhood, after dark, other than all the bars and restaurants one block away. I think you will find that up until it gets very late ok to go and mingle. I don't hang out there much past 12pm but usually most people feel very comfortable up until that time.

      There are no dishes other than some disposable plates and cups because, as advertised, there is no kitchen, only a refrigerator and microwave for your convenience.

      Sorry, for the slow connection the top floor is far from the modem, so I will attempt to relocate the modem or get the latest model.

      Aug 27 2013
  • Review by: Herve D.
    From:France
    Accommodation Rental: 5 days

    The email and telephone communications with New York habitat were of quality. Your company offers a very good service and a very good follow-up. We get the name of a representative and we can contact them directly. This is very important today as we live in a very impersonal world. Unlike many companies, NY Habitat offers a highly personalized service.

    I recommended NY Habitat to many friends. As regards the owners, they were very discreet. Very efficient, very friendly and available for us if we needed.

    Aug 08 2013
    • Answer by:
      Accommodation Owner

      Herve, thanks a million. I am glad you found the service of NY Habitat and myself satisfactory. I think we both aim to please.

      Aug 14 2013
  • Review by: Angelique B.
    From:France
    Accommodation Rental: 15 days

    Strong points: this apartment location is ideal, with easy access to the subway and the bus is right in front of the building. welcome is pleasant, owner is available. the linen is clean, the room is large enough and equipped so you can settle

    Downsides: no wifi (router too remote), the bedroom is cleaned superficially, which is insufficient. the big negative is the fact there are roaches in the bedroom despite our using insecticides extensively, very extensively even.

    Aug 03 2013
    • Answer by:
      Accommodation Owner

      Angelique, thank you for your comments. I will attempt to replace the router. I apologize for the roaches, I recently sprayed the apartment and the whole building and will follow up with the situation.

      I will urge future guest to be diligent in taking the trash out and not letting it accumulate, in order to keep the apartment free of roaches.

      Moreover, I always make sure to clean the apartment before a new guest moves in, and will be even more cautious about it.

      Sep 06 2013
  • Review by: Simone F.
    From:Germany
    Accommodation Rental: 5 days

    This vacation rental is a bit off centered but the connection to the center is very good with the subway. All the interesting places are easily accessible. The host was extremely friendly, helpful and flexible.

    He gave us good tips on places to visit and things to do. It is fantastic value for the money since you get a very spacious room for a good price.

    We're happy to recommend the room and would go back. Only one downside: the WLAN is a bit weak on the top floor.

    May 30 2013
    • Answer by:
      Accommodation Owner

      Thanks Simone, I am very thankful for the wonderful review. I did not know the wifi was weak, it was never mentioned by previous guest. It might have been a time we were experiencing difficulty, however, I will check it out.

      I do know, sometimes you might have to move to the other side of the room.

      Jun 18 2013
  • Review by: Yvonne M.
    From:Germany
    Accommodation Rental: 6 days

    I was very comfortable. The host was very nice and helpful. The value for the money was fine for me. It had Bohemian charm. The only thing is it smelled of urine a bit on the 3rd floor.

    Otherwise very nice.

    May 15 2013
    • Answer by:
      Accommodation Owner

      Yvonne, Thanks for your review. The Tenant in the front on the third floor had a medical condition which might have been the cause of the smell. He has since been put in the hospital where his leg was amputated due to a diabetic condition.

      Sorry, for any discomfort you might have experienced.

      May 22 2013
  • Review by: Liliana C.
    From:Italy
    Accommodation Rental: 10 days

    Overall, the accommodation, in a perfect location with subway and bus stops a 5-minute walk away, was quiet and comfortable (facing an inner courtyard, not the street), the sheets and towels were clean and smelled nice.

    We used the accommodation for sleeping only, it's not equipped for eating in it, there's a fridge and a small microwave oven to heat up food. But then where would you eat?

    The cleaning of the accommodation was below average, we did it ourselves. Host was nice, kind and helpful. To be noted, even if it didn't particularly bother us, the heating in the bedroom and in the bathroom are VERY, VERY NOISY.

    Apr 24 2013
    • Answer by:
      Accommodation Owner

      Liliana, thanks for your stay. As advertised, cooking is not an option in this unit. The microwave and small refrigerator are there for an as needed basis.

      The noise for the radiators I believe only happens when the heat initially comes up since this unit is at the end of the line I believe. Will check it at the beginning of the heating season.

      I will attempt to do an even deeper cleaning prior to each guest. Thanks for the comments.

      May 07 2013
  • Review by: Shawn C.
    From:United States
    Accommodation Rental: 3 days

    The owners were very hospitable and friendly. They kept in contact with me from the time of the reservation until I arrived. The studio was very clean and well kept. The building was surprisingly quiet.

    Apr 04 2013
  • Review by: Hanane A.
    From:France
    Accommodation Rental: 6 days

    The owners are nice, smiling, open and kind. When we came across them, they made sure everything was fine on our side. the owner was at the apartment when we arrived to give us the keys. The owner gave us a hand to take our stuff upstairs as we were loaded and there's no elevator, which we appreciated.

    In our opinion, the apartment equipments, furniture and decoration need a bit of a revamp. The apartment is basic and doesn't necessarily meet all the guests' expectations.

    I hope my comments will help you improve the guests' stay and rent it more.

    Mar 08 2013
    • Answer by:
      Accommodation Owner

      Hanane, thanks for your visit and review. Overall all we hope that you enjoyed yourself in New York. Sorry, that it is a 4 story walkup but i hope that it was not that bad after you got your belongings upstairs. I think the walk perhaps once, maybe twice a day really is not that bad.

      Mar 26 2013
      • Answer by:
        New York Customer Service

        Thank you very much for your review Hanane. It gave us the opportunity to visit the property to improve our pictures and to make sure our information is accurate.

        We found the apartment to be beautiful and in a good shape with basic and simple furnishing that would perfectly fit budget travelers, especially considering the very interesting rate.

        Mar 26 2013
  • Review by: Olivier B.
    From:France
    Accommodation Rental: 7 days

    The owner is really very nice. The neighborhood was a bit far, but it's Harlem and it's really beautiful.

    Jan 30 2013
  • Review by: Sarah M.
    From:Germany
    Accommodation Rental: 9 days

    The host was very helpful and courteous. Besides, it was really very quiet. We rarely heard the neighbors and didn't hear anything from the street or from outside.

    Also, the location is great, you're less than 5 minutes away from the subway and about 20 minutes from Midtown.

    All in all, we were very happy with the accommodation and with the host.

    Dec 20 2012
  • Review by: Sondra F.
    From:Italy
    Accommodation Rental: 3 days

    The owner is really polite and always willing to help. The flat was fine and we were very happy about the choice. The only problem was the area. In general Harlem is fine, but the few blocks around the building and the subway, were a bit different. During night we always preferred to take a cab.

    Dec 04 2012
    • Answer by:
      Accommodation Owner

      Thank you very much for your review Sondra. I can see how the area may be a bit intimidating during the nighttime, but you and any perspective tenants may rest assured because there are many lively spots within the area that stay lively through the night. An example of this may be the 5 restaurants and bars within the train station's proximity that are open until 4am.

      The train station is only a block away, which makes it convenient for quick transportation to and from the apartment. I do not wish for any of my tenants to be placed in a dangerous situation during their stays, and I hope that this information may help perspective tenants during their stays.

      Dec 28 2012
  • Review by: Andreas S.
    From:Germany
    Accommodation Rental: 7 days

    Very kind host who also gave us some tourist tips. The accommodation is within easy reach of 2 subway stations as well as bus lines.

    Dec 02 2012
  • Review by: Marta C.
    From:Spain
    Accommodation Rental: 10 days

    Positives: fairly quiet, well served by public transport, subway and bus alike. Lovely neighborhood and not dangerous at all. The studio is spacious.

    Negatives: leaks in the washroom on rainy days. No elevator. The hot water in the shower was slow to come out and there isn't much water.

    Oct 22 2012
    • Answer by:
      Accommodation Owner

      Thanks for your review, Marta. This unit is on the top floor and I have been informed that it leaks in one spot by the window when it rains. I have patched the roof and at this time, am waiting to see if what I did solves the problem.

      If it doesn't, I will continue to actively locate the problem and try to solve it. When the house is occupied by many people, it takes a little time for the hot water to refill. As for the volume, I will check it out because I never heard of a similar complaint.

      Nov 06 2012
  • Review by: Ann C.
    From:United States
    Accommodation Rental: 3 days

    Everything was great. We met the owner and he was very helpful. He even provided us a map of the area and gave us recommendations about where we should visit. This was a great value and would recommend it to others!

    Oct 22 2012
  • Review by: Silvia C.
    From:United States
    Accommodation Rental: 4 days

    This vacation rental is very good by New York standards, with the average American standard of cleanliness, which leaves quite a bit to be desired, and not excessively expensive for what I've seen in Manhattan. But even so, it is very expensive (to be in New York), and with no elevator and no kitchen, it's quite limited.

    However, the location is good, you escape from all the hustle and bustle of the city center, the subway is very close by and the neighborhood is worthwhile. We were very well looked after, we had very fast and friendly responses to all our needs. It was also very nice to deal with the people in the neighborhood, much nicer than in the center of Manhattan.

    I recommend it to anyone who has no problem walking up 3 floors with their luggage and who doesn't prefer the stress and the crowds typical of NY.

    Oct 14 2012
    • Answer by:
      Accommodation Owner

      Silvia, thank you for your review. It is a 4th floor walkup, but it sounds that after you got your bags up, you went on to enjoy yourself and the neighborhood. The apartment is advertised with no kitchen and I think as prices go, it is moderately priced for Manhattan and the location.

      I am not sure what is meant by "American Style of Cleanliness" but am quite delighted that you still find that you will recommend the apartment. There are other apartments on the 2 lower levels with kitchens for a few dollars more.

      Dec 20 2012
  • Review by: Kristina P.
    From:Austria
    Accommodation Rental: 8 days

    It was a very great choice to live in this apartment in New York. The owner is very helpful and nice, he want's to make everything very easy for you. We could even use his phone to make a call to a relative in the States when we arrived.

    In about 25 minutes you can reach the Times Square, so this apartment is a good starting point for exploring New York City!

    Everything was great there, so we will maybe come back if we go to New York again.

    Sep 10 2012
  • Review by: Jeanette J.
    Accommodation Rental: 4 days

    Very friendly, helpful and easy going owner. Gave useful tips about area.

    Good location. Organic supermarket around the corner, great for cheap and fresh sandwiches. Applebees on corner, great for people watching.

    Stayed twice in two weeks and would highly recommend this accomodation. Building could use some maintenance.

    Jul 19 2012
  • Review by: Roberta D.
    From:Italy
    Accommodation Rental: 7 days

    We were happy with our stay in this well located apartment (a 5-minute walk to the subway station).

    This apartment is ideal for those who just need a place to rest and have a good shower at the end of the day (although it is difficult to regulate the water temperature).

    Jul 16 2012
    • Answer by:
      Accommodation Owner

      In the future, I will take an additional minute as I introduce the guest to the room, and show them how to operate the single lever shower body.

      Jul 26 2012
  • Review by: Jeanette J.
    Accommodation Rental: 2 days

    Very friendly, helpful and easy going owner. Gave good tips about transportation and shopping in the area.

    We stayed twice in two weeks in the studio and can highly recommend it.

    Loved the location. Organic store with great Sandwiches around the corner. Applebees is very conveniënt for late night dinners and the perfect place to watch the colorful local crowd.

    Bus to metropolitan museum right in front of The studio and subway just 1 block away. Building could use some maintenance.

    Jul 16 2012
  • Review by: Audrey R.
    From:France
    Accommodation Rental: 9 days

    We were delighted with our stay in this little studio apartment, the bedroom and the bathroom are fully adequate, however there is no kitchen (plan some flatware if you want to cook...). The host is charming and always available for any question.

    The apartment is very well located between the 2 big subway lines that take you downtown in 20 to 25 min. The place overall is a bit noisy but still quiet for New York! An excellent stay!

    May 16 2012
    • Answer by:
      Accommodation Owner

      I thank the guests for their comments. The apartment includes a small refrigerator and microwave which has usually been adequate for most people that rent this unit.

      May 24 2012
  • Review by: A Guest
    From:France
    Accommodation Rental: 5 days

    The flat is quiet and very well located, close to 2 subway stops, small supermarket and all the facilities at the corner. The landlord was very nice and helpfull. I had a great stay!

    Mar 27 2012
  • Review by: A Guest
    From:Spain
    Accommodation Rental: 3 days

    Good value for money. Owner efficient, contact easy. Downtown only 15 minutes away with subway, typical neighborhood. Building rather old but sufficient to go back to and sleep, large bathroom, very clean towels.

    Re- downsides: shower temperature difficult to adjust and excessive heating in the apartment and the building. An obvious solution for when we go back to visit New York again.

    Dec 12 2011
    • Answer by:
      New York Customer Service

      The owner contacted us to say he will check the heating and explain to future guests how to turn it off when needed.

      Dec 14 2012
  • Review by: Jon L.
    From:Australia
    Accommodation Rental: 5 days

    Good value. Pleasant, helpful owner.

    Nov 28 2011
  • Review by: Jon L.
    From:Australia
    Accommodation Rental: 3 days

    Good value for money. Pleasant and helpful landlord. Quiet because of its location at the back of the building. Good location because it was within easy walking distance from my work (at CCNY). Rapid connection via 2 and 3 subway to 42nd and 34th Streets. Could do with coffee-making facilties and less rickety fridge-microwave combination.

    Nov 21 2011
Nearby attractions to this vacation rental in New York
New York Theaters
Apollo Theater
New York Parks and Squares
Marcus Garvey Park

Map : New York Vacation Rental - 5th Avenue & West 125th Street (MLK Boulevard) New York, NY 10035

Show attractions    Show subways lines    Show subway stations

 

subway

  • 4, 5, 6 Trains to 125 Street / Lexington Avenue Station
  • 2, 3 Trains to 125 Street / Lenox Avenue Station

These maps/directions are informational only. No representation is made or warranty given as to their content, road conditions or route usability or expeditiousness. User assumes all risk of use. Google Maps, New York Habitat, and their suppliers assume no responsibility for any loss or delay resulting from such use.