Menu

New York Room For Rent - 4 Bedroom apartment for a roommate in Bedford Stuyvesant (NY-17217)

Rate
$1,100 - $1,500 / month
USD1100.00
Agency fees are not included
Need help? Call us:
New York: +1 (212) 255-8018+1 (212) 255-8018 i 9:00am to 6:00pm
New York time
Monday thru Sunday
Availability
USD $
  • USD $
  • Euro €
  • U.K. £
  • Aust $
  • Can $
  • ¥en
  • SFranc
start date end date sleeps month information
now open 1
$1,100
information:Bedroom 4. Three months minimum. All Utilities Included $100 Move out cleaning fee.
2
$1,250
information:Bedroom 4. Three months minimum. All Utilities Included $100 Move out cleaning fee.
Oct 15 2019 open 1
$1,200
information:Bedroom 2. Three months minimum. All Utilities Incld $100 Move out cleaning fee.
2
$1,350
information:Bedroom 2. Three months minimum. All Utilities Incld $100 Move out cleaning fee.
Dec 31 2019 open 1
$1,350
information:Bedroom 1 + private bathroom. Three months minimum. All Utilities Incld $100 Move out cleaning fee
2
$1,500
information:Bedroom 1 + private bathroom. Three months minimum. All Utilities Incld $100 Move out cleaning fee
Feb 01 2020 open 1
$1,200
information:Bedroom 3. Three months minimum. All Utilities Included $100 Move out cleaning fee.
2
$1,350
information:Bedroom 3. Three months minimum. All Utilities Included $100 Move out cleaning fee.
All dates and prices are subject to confirmation.
Prices in U.S. Dollars. Euros. 1 US$ = 0.906 Euro € British Pounds. 1 US$ = 0.802 U.K. £ Australian Dollars. 1 US$ = 1.455 Aust $ Canadian Dollars. 1 US$ = 1.325 Can $ Japanese Yens. 1 US$ = 107.841 ¥en Swiss Francs. 1 US$ = 0.991 SFranc
Description
Room for Rent 4 Bedroom apartment in Bedford Stuyvesant (NY-17217)
4 Bedrooms - Duplex, 2 Bathrooms, 1 Half Bathroom - Sleeps 2

Nestled between Williamsburg, Bushwick, Crown Heights and Clinton Hill, at the cross of Lexington Avenue and Nordstrand Avenue, you will find a promising four bedroom apartment  in Bedford Stuyvesant, New York. The duplex is situated on the first and second floor of a low-rise building.

Please note that those are bedrooms for rent in a shared apartment. While the bedroom is your private space, other areas such as the living room, the kitchen and the bathroom will be shared with roommates. On the first floor, there is the living room and open kitchen with Bedroom and Bathroom 1. The white walls and the windows allow for loads of natural light to shine through, making the living room and bedrooms very bright. The kitchen is open on the living room and well equipped with an oven and a microwave. When you go up the stairs, you will find three more rooms for rent and a second bathroom. The whole apartment and bedrooms have hardwood floors that match the doors and stairs which creates a harmonious feeling. You will be able to personalize the four bedroom apartment share to your liking and make it your own!

Explore Bedford-Stuyvesant and take advantage of the many eclectic store, bars and restaurants found in the area. Start the day at Bedford Hill Coffee Bar (0.3mi) or check out the Black Swan (0.3mi), a British-style hangout offering pints and pub food to local regulars. Lucha Lucha (0.1mi) is the down the block; this popular Mexican restaurant serves tacos, burritos and other Mexican eats while Peaches (1.3mi) offers a modern spin on Southern comfort food; try their popular brunch menu! 

Hop on the A or C train at Nostrand Avenue / Fulton Street (0.5mi) for easy commute to Manhattan and other boroughs. The G train at Bedford-Nostrand Avenues / Lafayette Avenue (0.1mi) will allow you to explore Brooklyn and Queens. 

Amenities:
  • Cable,
  • TV,
  • Pets not allowed,
  • Smoking not permitted,
  • No elevator
Location
Map: New York Room for Rent - Lexington Avenue and Nostrand Avenue Brooklyn, NY 11216
subway i These maps/directions are informational only. No representation is made or warranty given as to their content, road conditions or route usability or expeditiousness. User assumes all risk of use. Google Maps, New York Habitat, and their suppliers assume no responsibility for any loss or delay resulting from such use.
  • A, C Trains to Nostrand Avenue / Fulton Street Station
  • G Train to Bedford-Nostrand Avenues / Lafayette Avenue Station
Rooms
  • living room
  • kitchen
  • bedrooms
  • bathrooms
  • apartment layout
Living room
Features: Window, Cable, TV, Sofa
Kitchen
Features: Open, Fridge, Oven, Microwave, Freezer, Coffee maker, Toaster
Bedroom # 1
Features: Sheets, Window
Number of beds: 1
Bed size: bed (double)
Bedroom # 2
Features: Sheets, Window
Number of beds: 1
Bed size: bed (double)
Bedroom # 3
Features: Sheets, Window
Number of beds: 1
Bed size: bed (double)
Bedroom # 4
Features: Sheets, Window
Number of beds: 1
Bed size: bed (double)
Bathroom # 1
Features: Shower, WC, Tub, Towels
Bathroom # 2
Features: Shower, WC, Tub, Towels
Bathroom # 3 (half)
Features: WC, Towels
Other

Apartment floor plans in this site are not drawn to scale. They are an indication of the general layout and are intended as a guide only. Nothing contained in them should be considered to be an exact blueprint or statement of fact or warranty.

Ratings & Reviews
Room for Rent 4 Bedroom apartment in Bedford Stuyvesant (NY-17217)
Overall Apartment Rating (2) ? Overall Apartment Rating - The apartment rating is an average of each individual rating the apartment has received (not an average of the categories' ratings)
2.4 stars

The number in parenthesis is the number of customers who have rated this apartment

Apartment Experience (2) ? Apartment Experience - Clients' general impression of the apartment including, value and general comments and feelings about the rental
3.0
Location (2) ? Location - Clients' rating of the location of this apartment
2.5
Cleanliness (2) ? Cleanliness - Clients' rating of the cleanliness of the apartment
2.0
Condition, Comfort, Amenities (2) ? Condition, Comfort, Amenities - Clients' ratings of the details of the apartment including appliances and equipment, furniture and linens, size and available space, decoration/style, comfort of the apartment
2.5
Building (2) ? Building - Clients' rating of the building that the apartment is in including: Building appearance and condition, doorman/concierge (when applicable), access to apartment, extra amenities such as car park etc (when applicable)
3.0
Quiet/Loud (2) ? Quiet/Loud - Clients' rating of how quiet the apartment is, the greater the number of stars, the quieter the property. Please note that noise levels are especially subjective and can vary
1.5
Apartment Reviews (2)
Review by: David S.,
Feb 22 2019
From: Spain,
Apartment Share Rental: 2 months

The only good point I see about the house is the large size of it and the existence of having an additional toilet to the main. As I can not say anything else positive about the apartment and the owner, I will redact all the issues that have done my visit to New York worse.

The day I arrive in this city, as I talked with the owner, she would be waiting for me in the apartment, to give me the keys and also to give her the money of the deposit and the first month fee (thing that never happened). I had to wait more than one hour in a bar, incommunicado (did not have internet, neither could phone) with all my heavy luggage, in order to get inside the apartment and get the keys of it.

My first impression of the house was terrible (to be honest, I was a little bit scared), the house was full of flies and full of dirtiness. The heaters had cobwebs, the kitchen was overrun of grease and I even found some cockroaches when cleaning my room (thing I do not understand, do I really pay almost 1000 dollars to get a room full of grime?).

Another thing that I would like to highlight is the lack of concern from the owner, who always took days to meet our needs and to solve some problems like the one named above (with the flies). My roommates and I always had to contact her repeatedly times to get some answer from her.

Acoustic pollution is another big problem in the house. It was so hard for me falling to sleep with so much noise from outside (the qualities of the building did not help the house to be isolated from the noise). This was a really huge problem for me, because rest and comfort is essential in day to day.

To sum up, I think the owner`s behavior leaves much to be desired and should show much more kindness, respect and professionalism with their guests.
I definitely do not recommend this apartment.

David

Answer by: Roommate Host
Apr 25 2019

David,

I'm sorry to hear you did not have a great experience. When a guest has issues or something is dirty, I encourage them to tell me immediately so that I can take care of it. During your stay, you never mentioned any of these issues. Instead, you waited until you left to express your concerns in an attempt to discredit my business, my home, and my family. It's also odd that you wrote this review around the same time as your former roommate/friend and some of the comments are similar.

Thank you for your feedback and I wish you the best of luck!

Review by: Rocio M.,
Feb 14 2019
From: Spain,
Apartment Share Rental: 4 months

The apartment itself is not bad. The space is quite large and having an extra bathroom on the first floor is a good point. The nearest metro station is 5 minutes walking but the area is super loud.

The main problem is the owner. The day I arrived to the apartment, I had to wait 3 hours (with all my luggage) for her to come to give me the keys.

Privacy is a problem with her, she can appear in the apartment whenever she wants, she has a copy of the keys and she doesn?t let you know when she is going to the apartment.

One night, I was alone at the apartment (all the other rooms were empty without being rented) and her son come into the house with another person at 10pm without letting me know. It was scary and irrespective.

Also, she asked me if I minded to let her cousin and her husband with their adolescent children to sleep in the apartment in New Years Eve.

There was a chain in the principal door that locked the door from the inside. One day, she decided to remove it to have total freedom to get into the house without letting me know.

One day, she went to the apartment to do some improvements in the kitchen and she decided to do it playing music so loud. It lasted all the evening.

If you need her to go to the house at an specific time, ask her to do it with a lot of days in advance. Both one of my roommates and I have problems to get our security deposit back. My roommate almost miss his flight because she arrived to the house 2 hours after the time they arranged. In my case, she typed me that she couldn?t come to check the apartment on time so she would transfer the money once I would have come back to Europe. Of course, I denied that.

Furthermore, she is trying to sell the house so she has been showing the apartment with all the tenants inside. We had lo leave the house on Sundays to let her show the house to possible buyers with all our things in our rooms.

If you want to have some guests, you have to pay $40 per night apart from your monthly rent. So if you want to have some friends visiting you, your guests will have to pay a lot of money.

She has the thermostat of the house locked so you can?t change the temperature of the heating. You have to asked her to go to the house with the key of the thermostat to change the temperature. This has been a huge problem. There were days she didn?t want to go to the house to change the temperature. It means there were days it was so hot inside the house and another days it was so cold because the temperature of the heating was the same no matter what temperature was outside.

The radiators of the house were SO dirty with lint and something that looked like rat poop inside. I can?t say with 100% confidence that it was rat poop but it seemed to be that.

I do not recommend this apartment. With the same amount of money, I?m sure you can find something better, cleaner, with less noise and with a respectful owner.

Answer by: Roommate Host
Apr 25 2019

We are a family owned business. During Rocio's stay and as guests were moving out, we were making upgrades to the apartment to improve our guest's experience.

Rocio,

I think it's important to note that you were renting the room, not the entire apartment. The rest of the apartment is common space which means you are sharing it with other guest and the owner has the right to enter the apartment as needed.

I respect my guest privacy and never enter their personal space (their room) without their knowledge. I also almost never visit the property unless there is an emergency. Again, my job is to provide a clean and comfortable environment and I do that by providing necessary upgrades once or twice a year.

Let me address a few of your concerns:

I had to wait 3 hours (with all my luggage) for her to come to give me the keys. (You did not make your payment in advance, and I allowed you to stay the night without pay until you were able to secure the funds in the morning)

Privacy is a problem with her, she can appear in the apartment whenever she wants, she has a copy of the keys and she doesn?t let you know when she is going to the apartment. (I don't know any owner that does not have a key to their house)

One night, I was alone at the apartment (all the other rooms were empty without being rented) and her son come into the house with another person at 10pm without letting me know. It was scary and irrespective. (this is a 4 bedroom house and a shared space with locks on the door. when you share space, guest can come in and out at any time)

f you need her to go to the house at an specific time, ask her to do it with a lot of days in advance. Both one of my roommates and I have problems to get our security deposit back. My roommate almost miss his flight because she arrived to the house 2 hours after the time they arranged. In my case, she typed me that she couldn?t come to check the apartment on time so she would transfer the money once I would have come back to Europe. Of course, I denied that. ( The lease that you signed states that your security deposit would be within 30 days. As a courtesy to my international guest I try to accommodate by returning the deposit the same day you leave)

She has the thermostat of the house locked so you can?t change the temperature of the heating. (I have since replaced the thermostat and can now control it remotely, yay! I control it according to NYC law to avoid conflict amongst guest)

If you want to have some guests, you have to pay $40 per night apart from your monthly rent. So if you want to have some friends visiting you, your guests will have to pay a lot of money. ($40 is very inexpensive compared to staying at a hotel, your rent covers you, not your guest)

The house is no longer on the market.

Lastly, when a guest has issues or something is dirty, I encourage them to tell me immediately so that I can take care of it. During your stay, you never mentioned any of these issues. Instead, you waited until you left to express your concerns in an attempt to discredit my business, my home, and my family. In addition to that, you tried to recruit other guests to do the same. In the future, I would suggest you rent an apartment and not a room with a shared space. I wish you the best of luck!