New York Apartment - 1 Bedroom Rental in Chelsea (NY-11177)

$3,200 / month
Agency fees are not included
Need help? Call us:
New York: +1 (212) 255-8018+1 (212) 255-8018 i 9:00am to 6:00pm
New York time
Monday thru Sunday
Saturday & Sunday:
  • USD $
  • Euro €
  • U.K. £
  • Aust $
  • Can $
  • ¥en
  • SFranc
start date end date sleeps month information
Jan 01 2024 open 2
information:WiFi Internet included. Gas/Electric included up to $100/month.
All dates and prices are subject to confirmation.
Prices in U.S. Dollars. Euros. 1 US$ = 0.948 Euro € British Pounds. 1 US$ = 0.819 U.K. £ Australian Dollars. 1 US$ = 1.564 Aust $ Canadian Dollars. 1 US$ = 1.347 Can $ Japanese Yens. 1 US$ = 149.283 ¥en Swiss Francs. 1 US$ = 0.918 SFranc
1 Bedroom Apartment Rental in Chelsea (NY-11177)
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom - Sleeps 2

This one bedroom apartment is located in Chelsea, a neighborhood on the West Side of Manhattan, New York. It is on the 3rd floor (equivalent to the 2nd European floor) of a 4-story, walk-up brownstone townhouse with a buzzer security system at the entrance. The unit measures 500 sq ft (approx. 46 m²) and has a southwestern exposure, overlooking the street below.

This apartment has an almost romantic feel to it, with ivory and soft blue walls, ceiling moldings, lovely windows with gauze-like drapes and a variety of light wood furnishings that compliment the blond wood floors. The front door of the air-conditioned apartment opens into the living area, which has high ceilings and two windows that let in the sunlight. It is furnished with a queen-size sofa bed, coffee table and side tables, facing a decorative fireplace with a large wall-mounted mirror above it. There is also a wooden dining table that seats two guests and a small digital television. The open kitchenette is equipped with a four-burner gas stove, microwave, mini-fridge, coffee maker, toaster and cooking utensils. The bedroom is bright and contains a double bed, an armoire and nightstands. The bathroom, styled in bolder colors than the rest of the apartment, includes a tub-shower, toilet, and a washbasin with storage cabinet below and a wall-mounted mirror above.

Situated on West 22nd Street & Ninth Avenue in Chelsea, this one bedroom apartment is conveniently near three subway stations. You can take the C and E trains at 23 Street / 8 Avenue (3 blocks) and at 14 Street / 8 Avenue (8 blocks), where you can also catch the A and L trains. Alternatively, you can walk 7 blocks to the 18 Street / 7 Avenue station, which is on line 1. Chelsea is the center of NYC’s thriving art scene, packed with over a hundred art galleries and a contemporary art museum, located directly west of the rental. A block further west is the Hudson River Park, with a beautiful bike and roller-blading path along the Hudson River, offering spectacular views of downtown Manhattan. About 6 blocks south, you’ll find Chelsea Market, which takes up the entire city block. It is an amazing indoor market housing over a dozen different gourmet food and wine purveyors, including freshly baked breads, pastries, seafood and produce. There are also numerous boutiques and specialty stores. From there, walk 2 blocks further south to the Meatpacking District, a trendy neighborhood with hip nightclubs, bars, and restaurants. Try the Southeast Asian specialties at Spice Market and don’t miss out on the cocktails at The Standard Grill (all within a half-mile radius / approx. 0.8 km).

  • Air Conditioning,
  • TV,
  • Decorative Fireplace,
  • Internet,
  • Pets not allowed,
  • Smoking not permitted,
  • No elevator
Map: New York Furnished Rental - 22nd Street & Ninth Avenue New York, NY 10011
subway i These maps/directions are informational only. No representation is made or warranty given as to their content, road conditions or route usability or expeditiousness. User assumes all risk of use. Google Maps, New York Habitat, and their suppliers assume no responsibility for any loss or delay resulting from such use.
  • A, C, E, L Trains to 14 Street / 8 Avenue Station
  • 1 Train to 18 Street / 7 Avenue Station
  • C, E Trains to 23 Street / 8 Avenue Station
  • living room
  • kitchen
  • bedroom
  • bathroom
  • other
  • apartment layout
Living room
Features: Air Conditioning, Window, TV, Sofa, Dining table
Number of beds: 1
Bed size: sofa bed (queen)
Kitchen (Separate)
Features: Open, Fridge, Oven, Microwave, Freezer, Coffee maker, Toaster
Features: Sheets, Window
Number of beds: 1
Bed size: bed (double)
Features: Shower, WC, Tub, Towels

Apartment floor plans in this site are not drawn to scale. They are an indication of the general layout and are intended as a guide only. Nothing contained in them should be considered to be an exact blueprint or statement of fact or warranty.

Ratings & Reviews
1 Bedroom Apartment Rental in Chelsea (NY-11177)
Overall Apartment Rating (19) ? Overall Apartment Rating - The apartment rating is an average of each individual rating the apartment has received (not an average of the categories' ratings)
4.2 stars

The number in parenthesis is the number of customers who have rated this apartment

Apartment Experience (18) ? Apartment Experience - Clients' general impression of the apartment including, value and general comments and feelings about the rental
Location (18) ? Location - Clients' rating of the location of this apartment
Cleanliness (16) ? Cleanliness - Clients' rating of the cleanliness of the apartment
Condition, Comfort, Amenities (17) ? Condition, Comfort, Amenities - Clients' ratings of the details of the apartment including appliances and equipment, furniture and linens, size and available space, decoration/style, comfort of the apartment
Building (15) ? Building - Clients' rating of the building that the apartment is in including: Building appearance and condition, doorman/concierge (when applicable), access to apartment, extra amenities such as car park etc (when applicable)
Quiet/Loud (16) ? Quiet/Loud - Clients' rating of how quiet the apartment is, the greater the number of stars, the quieter the property. Please note that noise levels are especially subjective and can vary
Apartment Reviews (16)
Review by: Judith B.,
Feb 13 2022
From: United States,
Apartment Rental: 4 months

Wonderful location, excellent windows, friendly and responsive landlords.

Review by: Joep V.,
Nov 08 2019
From: Netherlands,
Apartment Rental: 3 months

The apartment was everything we could have wished for! Great location, very friendly and helpful hosts and in very good condition. The hardwood flooring, authentic ceilings and tasteful interior make the apartment a beautiful place to stay. We had minor issues with getting hot water at times but it was generally really good and the aircon/heating were much appreciated. We got lucky to experience Halloween in NYC, which is a truly unique experience especially on 22nd street. I would definitely recommend this place to others and hope to be able to stay there again in the future. Thanks so much, Alex for hosting us, being flexible in planning and making sure we had an amazing time!

Review by: Emilien F.,
Apr 14 2016
From: United States,
Apartment Rental: 5 months

This vacation rental is very well located, very clean and quiet. The owner is nice. My 5-month stay was very pleasant! You can't find a better place!

Review by: Sven S.,
Nov 03 2015
From: Germany,
Apartment Rental: 2 months

Overall, I was very satisfied. For Manhattan standards, the price to performance ratio was OK.

Review by: Sarah C.,
Sep 30 2014
From: United States,
Apartment Rental: 3 months

I had the pleasure of staying at this apartment for 4 months. From the initial enquiry with Darrell at NYC Habitat to the end of my stay at the apartment I cannot fault the experience. Blaise was a lovely & helpful person to deal with and the apartment itself exceeding my expectations. I will not only recommend NYC Habitat to anyone that takes an extended stay, I will also recommend this apartment. Location- tick. Apartment- tick. Cleanliness- tick. Building - tick.

Review by: Alba C.,
Jan 30 2014
From: Spain,
Apartment Rental: 3 months

The owner has been very helpful. The only problem is the central heating because the heating stopped a lot of times at 10pm when I was working at house with the computer and as the cold was quite intense I couldn't work any more.

Also some problems with the wifi. But in conclusion the stay was nice.

Answer by: Apartment Owner
Mar 14 2014

Thanks Alba, for your review and comments. We did have a problem with the thermostat for our building at the beginning of winter, and after working with our heating system maintenance company we were able to fix the problem and keep the heat running consistently.

The wifi network has been recently upgraded as well. We continue to work with Verizon in providing internet and phone service as an included amenity for our guests, but since hurricane Sandy they have had repeated outages of service, and we are considering our options going forward.

Best regards,

Review by: Shyamalar G.,
May 23 2013
From: Australia,
Apartment Rental: 2 months

Great place to stay in NYC.

Review by: Willa B.,
Mar 07 2013
From: United Kingdom,
Apartment Rental: 2 months

We moved to New York in January 2013 and spent our first two months in this apartment. It suited us perfectly, the owners were helpful, the living room is incredibly light and spacious, and the apt. is well heated.

If I had one negative, which would sit amongst the dozens of positives, the hot water is not always reliable, especially in the evenings, but this really is the only thing to improve upon.

Otherwise I highly recommend this as a place to stay - the street and area have great appeal.

Answer by: Apartment Owner
Mar 15 2013

Thanks, Willa - we're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we wish you well in your new New York home.

On the subject of the hot water, the system in our house is a bit different than what many people have at home, and this can cause some difficulties. Both hot water and steam heat for the entire building are provided by a high-capacity bio-diesel fueled boiler in the cellar - as you noted, the apartments are well heated, so there is no fundamental problem with the boiler.

However, the hot water system is "tankless" (hot water is generated on demand rather than being stored in a hot water tank) - this is more energy efficient than keeping the water hot in a tank.

The tankless operation does mean that the hot water never "runs out" - however, there is a limit to the hot water that can be generated at once. If there are many users of hot water at once, and especially if several of them are running the hot water tap fully open to "get the cold water out of the system" it can create a total flow that exceeds the heating capacity of the system - the result is lukewarm (or in winter, cool) water to everyone.

The solution to the problem is to back off the hot water tap and run it at a moderate flow rate.

It can take a minute for the tankless heating coil in the boiler to reach its operating temperature if the system is not already running for hot water or steam heat, but this will actually take longer with a full open flow than with a moderate flow. In some cases (dishwasher and washing machine running at the same time as several people showering or filling the bath) backing off to a moderate flow may not solve the problem.

However, dishwasher and washing machine fills only take a few minutes, so turning off the hot water entirely and waiting just four minutes should be enough to allow you to get sufficient hot water (there is no need to wait half an hour or more for a hot water tank to completely re-heat).

Review by: Adriana A.,
Feb 04 2013
From: Mexico,
Apartment Rental: 1 month

Very nice experience. Great location. Nice looking building and very beautiful apartment with three magnificent windows looking outside. Owner very nice, present and helpful. Everything was working perfectly, subway station, restaurants, markets, laundry nearby.

If the cleanliness of the apartment and building could be improved a little, this place will be a dream. I, certainly, will be back.

Answer by: Apartment Owner
Feb 25 2013

Thanks Adriana, for your review and comments. On the issue of cleanliness, we do our best to clean the apartment thoroughly before a guest's arrival but it can be difficult to thoroughly clean everything when it has been a month or more since the last turnover. Some guests are meticulous about keeping the apartment clean, but unfortunately that is not always the case.

There is a good and reliable cleaning service that we have used on many occasions, and we will be encouraging (strongly recommending) that our guests have them come to clean the apartment twice a month (mid-stay if they are only renting for a single month) - this would cost only $65 for a three hour cleaning, which is a lot of time for a one bedroom apartment - this should improve the guest experience and help to avoid issues with cleanliness that may build up over time.

At this time we are not planning to make this mandatory, as many guests keep the apartment quite clean themselves, but we may consider doing so in the future.

Review by: Susan G.,
Jan 02 2013
From: United States,
Apartment Rental: 1 month

Over and above the specific conditions of the property, there is a very nice atmosphere created by the gentleness of the landlords. My particular apartment was also wonderfully light.

Review by: Michael M.,
Dec 20 2012
From: United States,
Apartment Rental: 1 month

I stayed here for a month while going through a very intensive course and I chose to stay in this apartment because the location was ideal. Unfortunately it added a lot of stress to an already stressful experience.

The place seemed like it had been cleaned unprofessionally and very quickly, dust was on every surface. There were also mice and cockroaches but I hear that's fairly common in New York.

Most of it had to do with the fact that construction was going on downstairs the entire time. There was a lot of noise during the day and the internet was completely unreliable. When I called one of the owners about needing the internet he seemed annoyed with me and said he would try to fix it when he got back into town in a few days. There was a week where they seemed to be painting, I think and paint fumes wafted into the upstairs apartment. They were so strong that I had to open all of the windows in the middle of the night too keep from getting sick.

Pretty much every appliance was broken. The coffeemaker overheated and set off the smoke alarm but the iron didn't even heat up.

The apartment was in a beautiful location, though, and the owners seemed very nice at first. All in all I just don't believe that this was a very good fit for either of us. If I were to have been on a short vacation, it would have been a bit better but having to deal with so many problems when I was working 18 hours a day made things difficult. The owners got incredibly rude towards the end of my stay, as well. They treated me like I was a burden for trying to get the things that were supposed to work fixed which I didn't really appreciate. It seemed like they were under a lot of stress because of the construction.

Answer by: Apartment Owner
Aug 19 2013

Thanks for the feedback, Michael! We spoke with the owners about all of the issues you mentioned. They informed us that the renovations are over now.

With regards to the internet, they have enhanced the wireless internet coverage for the apartments by installing an additional access point in the fourth floor hallway. They said that there were some intermittent outages during the renovation but those have also been resolved.

We are sorry you didn't have the best experience but we really appreciate the feedback.

Review by: Joan W.,
Sep 22 2012
From: United States,
Apartment Rental: 1 month

Landlord was most accomodating. A pullout sofa sleeper was brought in during our stay to replace the futon that was there. It was more comfortable than the futon, and looked better,too.

We used the kitchen a lot; it has been remodeled (I think the photos on the website need to be updated) and it was well stocked with kitchen tools and some (nonperishable) food staples.

The apt. accomodated 3 family members well. There was one early morning incident (4am) that awakened us and caused us some concern. A tenant (intoxicated) had apparently forgotten or lost his keys and was swearing and pounding on the downstairs doors. I did not, but someone did, open the door. My daughter told me the door was left unlocked until approx. 7:30 the next morning.

The landlord (when informed) was concerned; he said nothing like that had ever happened before. He told me if anything like that did happen again, to have no compunction about calling the police. He also emailed all the other tenants, reminding them to keep the door locked at all times. He also emailed the neighbors, to find out if they had heard anything that night.

The neighborhood was lovely. Other than that one isolated incident, I felt very safe and had a very pleasant stay.

Answer by: New York Customer Service
Sep 24 2012

Thank you for your feedback, Joan. We're glad to hear you had a nice stay, despite that one incident.

We visited the apartment to take new pictures of the pullout sofa sleeper,remodeled kitchen, and everything else that needed to be updated.

The new images are now displayed on our website!

Review by: A Renter,
Apr 02 2012
From: United States,
Apartment Rental: 6 months

The location of this apartment can't be beat! An extremely quiet apartment on a tree-lined residential street, it is just steps from the highline, the Hudson, Chelsea Market, the subway, plenty of restaurants and shops, etc.

The building dates to the 1920s (I think) and needs significant repair/renovation. Paint and wood flooring are chipping, windows are dirty, furnishings are a bit dated and musty, etc. The kitchen is absolutely tiny.

That said, the apartment is spacious and well-lit, the bed is comfortable and the space does have character and charm. it's a wonderful place for a short-term stay and I really don't think the location could be any better.

The owner is very kind and accommodating.

Answer by: New York Customer Service
Apr 03 2012

New York Habitat has shared this review with the apartment owner.
Renovations are planned in the building for the future and New York Habitat will be sure to notify clients as soon as we are given specific dates.

Review by: A Renter,
Jul 06 2011
From: Australia,
Apartment Rental: 1 month

Had an immediate good feel,spacious enough,lovely light and personelly enjoyedthe view onto the chaming street. The owner was very courteous, helpfull and quick to fix minor problems.

Review by: Rowena D.,
Jan 15 2007
From: United States,
Apartment Rental: 2 months

I enjoyed my stay at the apartment. The location was great. The owners were very nice and made sure everything was provided in the apartment. They were also very responsive to any inquiries I had.

Review by: Gavan S.,
May 23 2005
From: Australia,
Apartment Rental: 2 months

The apartment I rented through you suited my needs perfectly while in New York. When I am able to make the trip again, I will certainly be using your service again.

About Cookies

This website uses both first party and third party cookies to offer you the best user experience. Please accept these cookies to take advantage of the site's full functionality. If you decline, note that some website features may not work fully (e.g. videos, maps, chat).

I accept I decline