New York Apartment - Alcove Studio in Battery Park (NY-12699)

$3,750 / month
Agency fees are not included
Need help? Call us:
New York: +1 (212) 255-8018+1 (212) 255-8018 i 9:00am to 6:00pm
New York time
Monday thru Sunday
Saturday & Sunday:
  • USD $
  • Euro €
  • U.K. £
  • Aust $
  • Can $
  • ¥en
  • SFranc
start date end date sleeps month information
now open 2
information:+App Fee;6 month min;Electric not incl;Wifi&basic cable $80 -$150 exit cleaning
All dates and prices are subject to confirmation.
Prices in U.S. Dollars. Euros. 1 US$ = 0.922 Euro € British Pounds. 1 US$ = 0.786 U.K. £ Australian Dollars. 1 US$ = 1.512 Aust $ Canadian Dollars. 1 US$ = 1.371 Can $ Japanese Yens. 1 US$ = 157.084 ¥en Swiss Francs. 1 US$ = 0.915 SFranc
Alcove Studio Apartment in Battery Park (NY-12699)
Alcove Studio, 1 Bathroom - Sleeps 2

This fully furnished alcove studio apartment is located in Battery Park, part of downtown Manhattan, New York. The apartment, completely renovated in 2015, is on the 11th floor (tenth floor for Europeans) of a luxury elevator building. The building also includes a full-time doorman, concierge, and laundry facilities. There is a gym and a pool on the property as well that can be accessed with a membership for an additional monthly rate.

Enjoy the amazing view of the New York City skyline from the wide windows of this apartment. The apartment features hardwood floors, air conditioning, and a kitchen that is fully equipped with stainless steel appliances, including a gas stove, dishwasher, and microwave. Cable television and internet access are available. Three closets provide plenty of storage space. The living area of this alcove studio can be divided from the sleeping area with a curtain.

This apartment is located on Rector Place and South End Avenue in the Battery Park section of New York City. The neighborhood is full of restaurants, coffee shops, stores, and bars. Popular places to dine at include 2 West, Liberty View Restaurant, Battery Market, and Winter garden Café, all within a quarter of a mile from the studio. The esplanade running alongside the Hudson River is a great place to take a stroll or jog, and Battery Park itself is a pleasant green oasis in the city that never sleeps! Adjacent neighborhoods include TriBeCa and Bowling Green.

Downtown Manhattan has many well-known attractions such as Trinity Church, Wall Street, Battery Park and Ground Zero. Just .7 mi (11.3 km) away is the South Street Seaport. Not only does the Seaport have excellent places to eat, you can visit shops such as Coach, Abercrombie & Fitch, Guess, and J Crew. In the warmer months of the year, be sure to check out the New Amsterdam Market, full of local and regional vendors selling everything from honey to kombucha to ice cream cones, as well as the typical assortment of fresh veggies and fruits.

The N and R subway station is located 2 blocks away near Rector Street / Trinity Place. You can also catch the 1 train here, which runs locally and will take you through Penn Station, Times Square and Columbus Circle, all the way through the Upper West Side to Uptown Manhattan.

  • Air Conditioning,
  • Cable,
  • TV,
  • Internet,
  • Laundry inside the building,
  • Terrace,
  • Gym,
  • Swimming Pool,
  • Pets not allowed,
  • Smoking not permitted,
  • Stairs necessary in addition to elevator
Map: New York Furnished Rental - Rector Place & South End Avenue New York, NY 10280
subway i These maps/directions are informational only. No representation is made or warranty given as to their content, road conditions or route usability or expeditiousness. User assumes all risk of use. Google Maps, New York Habitat, and their suppliers assume no responsibility for any loss or delay resulting from such use.
  • R Train to Rector Street / Trinity Place Station
  • 1 Train to Rector Street Station
  • living room
  • kitchen
  • bathroom
  • other
  • apartment layout
Living room
Features: Air Conditioning, Window, Cable, TV, Sofa
Number of beds: 1
Bed size: bed (queen)
Features: Fridge, Oven, Dishwasher, Microwave, Freezer, Coffee maker, Toaster
Features: Shower, WC, Tub, Towels, Marble

Apartment floor plans in this site are not drawn to scale. They are an indication of the general layout and are intended as a guide only. Nothing contained in them should be considered to be an exact blueprint or statement of fact or warranty.

Ratings & Reviews
Alcove Studio Apartment in Battery Park (NY-12699)
Overall Apartment Rating (8) ? Overall Apartment Rating - The apartment rating is an average of each individual rating the apartment has received (not an average of the categories' ratings)
4.2 stars

The number in parenthesis is the number of customers who have rated this apartment

Apartment Experience (8) ? Apartment Experience - Clients' general impression of the apartment including, value and general comments and feelings about the rental
Location (7) ? Location - Clients' rating of the location of this apartment
Cleanliness (7) ? Cleanliness - Clients' rating of the cleanliness of the apartment
Condition, Comfort, Amenities (7) ? Condition, Comfort, Amenities - Clients' ratings of the details of the apartment including appliances and equipment, furniture and linens, size and available space, decoration/style, comfort of the apartment
Building (7) ? Building - Clients' rating of the building that the apartment is in including: Building appearance and condition, doorman/concierge (when applicable), access to apartment, extra amenities such as car park etc (when applicable)
Quiet/Loud (7) ? Quiet/Loud - Clients' rating of how quiet the apartment is, the greater the number of stars, the quieter the property. Please note that noise levels are especially subjective and can vary
Apartment Reviews (5)
Review by: Catherine H.,
Apr 02 2015
From: United Kingdom,
Apartment Rental: 4 months

PLEASE NOTE - my score of the condition was prior to the refurb (pictured), which is beautifully done and raises it to 4/5 stars.

I was lucky enough to live here for 9 months.
The building is wonderful - very friendly, with the most incredible doormen in NYC! As a condo building, it is filled mainly with couples and families and therefore has a calm and homey feel overall. Bonus points for washer/driers on each floor (2 doors down from the apartment)
The apartment itself is a great size and is filled with light thanks to 2 big windows - one each in the living room and bedroom. Kitchen is fully equipped and the bathroom has great water pressure (random but important)
The only downside of the windows is that they both face West highway which means traffic noise - but then again this is NYC so you can never escape that!

Great location -close to the esplanade for waterside walks and yet only 5-10 mins from the 1, R, 2/3 and 4/5 subway lines.
Battery park is well catered for in terms of restaurants and delis - although who needs to shop when Fresh Direct will deliver to your door?
In all I was very happy in this apartment and only moved out to find a more permanent home here in NYC. I would recommend it in a heartbeat.

Answer by: Apartment Owner
Apr 06 2015

Thank you Catherine for your review and for having been a great tenant!
I'm glad that you had a great time in the unit, and enjoyed the building and neighborhood.

As you pointed out, after you left, we redid the apt entirely: new wood floor, new ceiling, new paint...and bought brand new furnitures (sofa, bed...) from crate & barrel. It now looks more like a hotel suite, and addressed the OK conditions you pointed out... It's now beautiful as you can see on the picture.

We have also reworked on the window case to reduce the noise, but then again, it's NYC and the city is noisy...

Thanks again for this review!

Answer by: New York Customer Service
Apr 08 2015

Thank you for this great review, Catherine!

New York Habitat visited the apartment after the renovations, and we now have up-to-date photos of this beautiful apartment!

Review by: Marion P.,
Aug 29 2013
From: United States,
Apartment Rental: 6 months

I had a wonderful stay and the apartment was very nice to live in. Its main drawback is the heater/cooler system which is extremely noisy and hard to get used to. I found also the bathroom is not well-ventilated, so there's too much humidity.

We found it difficult to get our refund back; after a misunderstanding, although we left the apartment on the 25th of June, the owner made us pay until end of the month and took 2 whole months to refund the deposit (contractually he had only 30 days).

Answer by: Apartment Owner
Nov 19 2013

Thanks for your feedback. I am glad to hear that your stay in the apartment was enjoyable overall. I would like to address/clarify a couple of things in your comments:

*Charge for the entire lease/till the end of the month: *You left on the 25th but your lease was running till the 30th. You did let me know about it barely 30 days in advance...therefore, and as per the standard lease regulations, I charged you as I should till the 30th.

Unfortunately, with less than 1 month notice, especially at a time I was traveling abroad, it was not enough to market the apt and would have caused a loss of at least 5 days...

*Security Deposit Delays: *The delay in returning the deposit was due to 1) the fact that you were asking for the incorrect amount: 5 days discount for the end of the month which you did not use but were within the agreed dates on the lease 2 + the monthly utilities due which you had omitted to pay for a few months

2) I was traveling abroad till end of July. So between the time to agree on the amount and the fact that I was abroad for a month, there was indeed some unfortunate delays which were however well communicated.

*Noise:* I assume you're referring to the heater/AC. Unfortunately, most AC units in NYC are noisy. I know that this is not the case in other countries, hence could be bothering at the beginning for noise sensitive individuals. But again, this is the norm in NYC...That being said, no one has complained about it so far, and I did have the Maintenance folks look into it, but nothing much to be done...

*Bathroom Humidity:* I'll look into this. No one alerted me about it before, and the current tenant told me that it was fine. Anyway, I'll have some one look into it.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Review by: Samira B.,
Jul 26 2011
Apartment Rental: 1 month

I enjoyed renting at Rector Place. Every one of the doormen and front desk staff were very friendly. The location was close to several subway lines which was very convenient. The apartment itself
had air conditioning that worked very well. Also a wide variety of cable channels.
My only dislikes were that the apartment was missing several lights. I emailed the owner as soon as I could about the problem and he did not do anything about it. He only thanked me for bringing it to his attention. Another grievance was that in the description of the apartment, it stated that there was internet. There was no WiFi so I emailed the owner and he told me that it was ethernet or to go to the second floor. The second floor is a private residence in the building and the ethernet did not have an incoming or outgoing signal, so I did not have internet during my stay there.
Lastly, I paid $150 cleaning fee for when I left so I hope that the owner hires someone else to do this job bc there was dust balls everywhere and walking around on hardwood floors for an hour your feet become black. One last thing, in the apartment description on NY Habitat it states that there is a pool. I could not use the pool unless I got a membership there, so that was also a waste.

Answer by: New York Customer Service
Jul 31 2011

Thank you for your thorough feedback Samira. We contacted the owner of the apartment to convey your comments. The owner said the Ethernet should be functioning fine now. He will speak with the cleaners and make sure the apartment is being thoroughly cleaned and is up to the standards that New York Habitat expects. There is a gym and a pool on the property, but they are not owned by the same owner and there is indeed a monthly membership fee to access these. We hope you enjoyed living in Battery Park for the time of your rental.

Review by: Emmanuel G.,
Jun 04 2011
From: France,
Apartment Rental: 5 months

The apartment is well furnished. The only thing missing was the household linen. In addition, the internet connection is far too slow, the wi-fi hardly worked. The ironing board is too small. Apart from these few points, the apartment is very pleasant.

Answer by: New York Customer Service
Jun 07 2011

Many thanks for reviewing this apartment rental, Emmanuel. All your comments have been conveyed to the owner who told us that he has just provided 2-3 sets of brand new linens. We are all glad to hear you found the apartment to be pleasant and well furnished.

Review by: Gary G.,
Feb 17 2010
Apartment Rental: 1 month

I really liked the [New York furnished] apartment and would stay there again.

About Cookies

This website uses both first party and third party cookies to offer you the best user experience. Please accept these cookies to take advantage of the site's full functionality. If you decline, note that some website features may not work fully (e.g. videos, maps, chat).

I accept I decline