New York Room For Rent - 7 Bedroom apartment for a roommate in Hamilton Heights, Uptown (NY-6777)

$950 - $1,800 / month
Agency fees are not included
Need help? Call us:
New York: +1 (212) 255-8018+1 (212) 255-8018 i 9:00am to 6:00pm
New York time
Monday thru Sunday
Saturday & Sunday:
  • USD $
  • Euro €
  • U.K. £
  • Aust $
  • Can $
  • ¥en
  • SFranc
start date end date sleeps month information
now open 1
information:Bedroom 4(4A):2months min- Utilities included- $75 move out cleaning fee
information:Bedroom 7 (4C): 2months min - Utilities included- $75 move out cleaning fee
information:Bedroom 1 + private bath: 2months min - Utilities included- $75 move out cleaning fee
information:Bedroom 2: 2months min - Utilities included- $75 move out cleaning fee
May 15 2025 open 1
information:Bedroom 6(4B): 2 months min - Utilities included- $75 move out cleaning fee
All dates and prices are subject to confirmation.
Prices in U.S. Dollars. Euros. 1 US$ = 0.933 Euro € British Pounds. 1 US$ = 0.789 U.K. £ Australian Dollars. 1 US$ = 1.516 Aust $ Canadian Dollars. 1 US$ = 1.374 Can $ Japanese Yens. 1 US$ = 157.869 ¥en Swiss Francs. 1 US$ = 0.892 SFranc
Room for Rent 7 Bedroom apartment in Hamilton Heights, Uptown (NY-6777)
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms - Sleeps 2

There are five rooms for rent in this shared seven-bedroom, four-story townhouse! This walk-up townhouse is located at 141st Street and Amsterdam Avenue in Hamilton Heights, Manhattan. The rooms for rent are on the third and fourth floors (second and third for Europeans) and feature northern and southern exposure.

When you walk through the door to this townhouse, you’ll notice the striking, wood-paneled living room with a decorative fireplace and grand wooden staircase. You will find the main kitchen on the 4th floor. A separate kitchen nook has a dishwasher, so cleaning up after your party will be easy! Please note that there is no oven/stove in the kitchens. The main kitchen on the 4th floor has a hot plate.

In Bedroom 3, you can enjoy high ceilings, a large decorative fireplace, and decorative molding that give the room old New York charm!

On the third floor, you’ll find the spacious fifth bedroom, with an ensuite bathroom, decorative fireplace, queen-sized bed, and wood-paneled walk-in closet.

On the fourth floor, you’ll find bedrooms 4, 6, and 7, which all feature built-in closets and north-facing (Bedroom 4) or south-facing (6 and 7) windows. These rooms share a full bathroom.

Hamilton Heights, named for former resident Alexander Hamilton, is a corner of Harlem where views of the Hudson River meet an established community of locals!

  • Just around the corner, enjoy farm-to-table comfort food at The Grange (57 m)!
  • Harlem Brewing Company (427 ft./130 m) offers a brewing demonstration, so you can come away with a new skill!
  • At Oso (1 block/150 m), you can enjoy your favorite Mexican dishes in a rustic-chic dining room.
  • The Hamilton Grange National Memorial (2 blocks/160 m) gives you the chance to visit Alexander Hamilton’s family home!
  • Food Universe Marketplace (4 blocks/ 480 m) is a New York City supermarket where you can pick up your favorite groceries.
  • Jorge’s Laundromat (246 ft./75 m) is right nearby!
  • 137 St- City College (1 line, 6 blocks/ 480 m) is the nearest NYC subway station.


  • No elevator
Map: New York Room for Rent - 141st Street & Amsterdam Avenue New York, NY 10031
subway i These maps/directions are informational only. No representation is made or warranty given as to their content, road conditions or route usability or expeditiousness. User assumes all risk of use. Google Maps, New York Habitat, and their suppliers assume no responsibility for any loss or delay resulting from such use.
  • 1 Train to 137 Street / Broadway : City College Station
  • living room
  • kitchens
  • bedrooms
  • bathrooms
  • other
  • apartment layout
Rooms not available in this apartment rental: bedroom #3, bedroom #5, bathroom #6
Living room
Features: Window
Rooms not available in this apartment rental: bedroom #3, bedroom #5, bathroom #6
Kitchen # 1 (Separate)
Features: Oven, Microwave, Toaster
Kitchen # 2
Features: Open, Microwave
Rooms not available in this apartment rental: bedroom #3, bedroom #5, bathroom #6
Bedroom # 1
Features: Window
Number of beds: 1
Bed size: bed (king)
Bedroom # 2
Features: Window
Number of beds: 1
Bed size: bed (single)
Bedroom # 4
Features: Window
Number of beds: 1
Bed size: bed (double)
Bedroom # 6
Features: Window
Number of beds: 1
Bed size: bed (double)
Bedroom # 7
Features: Window
Number of beds: 1
Bed size: bed (single)
Rooms not available in this apartment rental: bedroom #3, bedroom #5, bathroom #6
Bathroom # 1
Features: Shower, WC, Tub
Bathroom # 2
Features: Shower, WC, Tub
Bathroom # 3
Features: Shower, WC, Tub
Bathroom # 4
Features: Shower, WC, Tub
Bathroom # 5
Features: Window, Shower, WC, Tub
Rooms not available in this apartment rental: bedroom #3, bedroom #5, bathroom #6

Apartment floor plans in this site are not drawn to scale. They are an indication of the general layout and are intended as a guide only. Nothing contained in them should be considered to be an exact blueprint or statement of fact or warranty.

Ratings & Reviews
Room for Rent 7 Bedroom apartment in Hamilton Heights, Uptown (NY-6777)
Overall Apartment Rating (44) ? Overall Apartment Rating - The apartment rating is an average of each individual rating the apartment has received (not an average of the categories' ratings)
3.9 stars

The number in parenthesis is the number of customers who have rated this apartment

Apartment Experience (42) ? Apartment Experience - Clients' general impression of the apartment including, value and general comments and feelings about the rental
Location (41) ? Location - Clients' rating of the location of this apartment
Cleanliness (41) ? Cleanliness - Clients' rating of the cleanliness of the apartment
Condition, Comfort, Amenities (44) ? Condition, Comfort, Amenities - Clients' ratings of the details of the apartment including appliances and equipment, furniture and linens, size and available space, decoration/style, comfort of the apartment
Building (38) ? Building - Clients' rating of the building that the apartment is in including: Building appearance and condition, doorman/concierge (when applicable), access to apartment, extra amenities such as car park etc (when applicable)
Quiet/Loud (41) ? Quiet/Loud - Clients' rating of how quiet the apartment is, the greater the number of stars, the quieter the property. Please note that noise levels are especially subjective and can vary
Apartment Reviews (28)
Review by: A Roommate,
Feb 12 2024
From: France,
Apartment Share Rental: 2 months

I had a good experience during my internship, and Eeron and Verbina were disponible when needed. It was convenient to take the metro line 1, A and C to go downtown.
As for the cleanliness, as expressed in other comments, it is highly dependent on your roommates, and your ability to communicate with them about sharing responsibilities.
The rooms are slightly under average market prices in NYC, and I thought it was a good deal.

Review by: Enric C.,
Jan 23 2024
From: Spain,
Apartment Share Rental: 5 months

Eeron and his mother were excellent hosts, the apartment is very quiet, nice and close to train 1. I would repeat without hesitation.

The only problem I had was with another roommate who always left the kitchen dirty, but this was not the hosts fault.

Review by: Alejandro L.,
Jan 20 2023
From: Mexico,
Apartment Share Rental: 6 months

The space is what is shown in the pictures. There is no space for you to sit down and eat properly. They have problems with the electric stove that they have (which they used to have 2 and now they 1 only)
When I arrived the bathroom was very dirty, it looked like it wasn't cleaned for months.
It is sometimes noisy but not extremely noisy.

Answer by: New York Customer Service
Jan 23 2023

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in this shared apartment. Your feedback is very important. We have communicated with the owner about all your comments.

Review by: Mathieu R.,
Aug 08 2022
Apartment Share Rental: 2 months

Very nice place, the owner was very nice ! I stayed 10 weeks and I had everything I needed. It's close to the subways 1 A C and B.

Review by: Ambrine C.,
Jul 14 2022
From: Belgium,
Apartment Share Rental: 4 months

The bedroom is small but sufficient for one person. It's a little corner for yourself. Regarding the kitchen, it would be nice to provide a bit more cutlery.
Apart from that, the kitchen is well equipped. It's good also to have your own fridge.
The tub was a weak point for me. The pressure wasn't high enough to my liking and had a problem with cold/hot water temperature.

Answer by: New York Customer Service
Sep 12 2022

Ambrine, thank you very much for your review of the room you rented in this New York apartment share. We have passed on all your comments to the apartment owners. We are glad you enjoyed this "little corner for yourself" :)

Review by: Marie C.,
Apr 14 2020
From: Belgium,
Apartment Share Rental: 2 months

A beautiful bedroom, very comfortable and well heated, a welcoming and extremely kind landlady, what more could you ask? The kitchen may not be very appropriate for the number of people living in the house, but there's always a way to sort things out :) I highly recommend it!

Review by: Leo C.,
Jul 28 2016
From: France,
Apartment Share Rental: 1 month

This is not really a shared apartment because there is no common space available. Therefore it's not easy to exchange with the other roommates, especially because we weren't allowed to make any noise in the hallway, so once again, we couldn't talk with each other. The owner was not flexible at all, I cleaned the apartment but he kept a big part of my deposit without any justification. The bathroom is almost unhealthy, the kitchen was ok and the room was fine despite the heat. The apartment is well located, close to the subway, and you can also ride to downtown in 20-15 minutes. The neighborhood is VERY VERY noisy, we could hear fireworks every nights.

Answer by: Roommate Host
Aug 27 2016

Hello Leo
Thanks for your feedback on your experience in our house.
Unfortunately, since we do provide for roommates, a particular guest's experience will depend upon who they are sharing the space with. We encourage as much as we can that all residents maintain shared spaces neat and clean, and we support in every way possible that each individual respect the standards of their roommates. We provide cleaning services at cost when requested.

These standards extend to noise in the public spaces of the house, which for many roommates is one of the things that make their stay in our historic house exceptional.

We returned your security deposit minus the standard $50 end-of-term cleaning fee and the fees incurred by you when submitting your security deposit. No additional moneys were subtracted.

Concerning your issues with noise from the streets: yes, the neighborhood is lively and--hey, it's New York--24/7, especially in the summertime.

Review by: Frederik F.,
May 17 2016
From: United States,
Apartment Share Rental: 4 months

Nice Landlord, good location of the building and nice neighbourhood. Room itself is reasonably furnished, however, the mattress is very old and saggy and should be changed ASAP. Furthermore a reading light for the desk would be nice.

Review by: Marlena C.,
Apr 12 2016
From: Germany,
Apartment Share Rental: 5 months

I was more than happy with this apartment. it was clean, looked great and was big enough for one person. The location is also very well, it's nearby all the stations and you don't need too long to downtown Manhattan. I only can recommend!

Review by: Sylvia W.,
Mar 08 2016
From: Germany,
Apartment Share Rental: 6 months

The room I rented was great. It is the smallest one in the house however I was able to feel at home with the furniture provided. When you choose to live here you have to be aware that you will be living with the landlady, who just turned 80 years old. We got along very well, but this might be of interest for someone who doesn't want to live with people in that age range. The other roommates fluctuate since most of the rooms in the house are rented out. I was very lucky to get along with all of them. When you are staying in the room I was staying at the only downside is that you hear almost everything that goes on in the neighboring room.

Review by: Miren L.,
Jul 10 2015
From: France,
Apartment Share Rental: 3 months

My roomates were not very clean. The kitchen and the common areas were dirty. I think it depends only on the people who share the apartment. Everything was fine, the landlady was very nice and I enjoyed my stay.

Answer by: Roommate Host
Aug 07 2015

Hello Miren

Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay.
As we spoke with you while you were staying with us, our place is a home, into which we welcome visitors to New York, not a hotel with housekeeping services. Each roommate is responsible for keeping shared spaces clean and in order, and that sometimes requires roommates speaking with each other around these issues. Most of the time, our roommates, if not instinctively neat, respect the standards and feelings of their floor-mates and take up the necessary cleaning tasks, and we support roommate efforts to communicate and collaborate fully.

We hope that we were supportive to you in your efforts. Best luck in your future,


Review by: Lancelot R.,
Sep 08 2014
From: France,
Apartment Share Rental: 8 months

Really nice roomates
Really nice landlord
Mouse seen in the apartment

Answer by: Roommate Host
Nov 26 2014

Thank you very much for your kind remarks! I enjoyed having you stay. I have not seen a mouse but further to your review, we set traps but there was nothing. Thank you for your great feedback!

Review by: Michael Z.,
Sep 04 2014
From: France,
Apartment Share Rental: 5 months

Too bad there is no shared living room
Tiny dirty kitchen, dishes not properly washed
Very noisy because of the fire station nearby and the road works
Unpleasant and strict landlord.
He forbade me to buy an A/C arguing it would consume too much electricity.

Answer by: Roommate Host
Oct 23 2014

Thanks for your feedback, Michael. I'm sorry you were disappointed with your stay. Cleanliness is something I truly value. I honestly believe that it would be difficult to find a cleaner share. It is my policy, which is made clear to everyone upfront, that everyone is expected to clean up after themselves. Regarding the noise, when the windows are open the noise of fire trucks and road works sometimes come in. The windows are double glass, insulated and keep out the noise very well when they are closed. Unfortunately, the room is not wired for an air conditioning unit. It would be a fire safety issue if an air conditioner were installed, that is why the room is not advertised as including this. Your feedback is much appreciated and will help me improve for the future.

Review by: Josť Luis B.,
Apr 01 2014
From: Chile,
Apartment Share Rental: 3 months

Amazing place!

Review by: Melisa E.,
Feb 07 2014
From: Germany,
Apartment Share Rental: 3 months

It was my first time in New York and I couldn't get a better place to stay. The landlord was very nice and very helpful.

The room was clean and I felt very safe during my time there. I had to share the bathroom with two other people but that wasn't a big deal because everyone tried to keep it clean. I didn't use the kitchen but I saw that there is everything you need. I never had problems with wifi. It worked perfectly and skyping to my friends back in Europe was no problem. The subway station is a five minute walk which is not that much if you considers you're in New York.

I would stay there again if I go back to New York.

Review by: Anna S.,
Dec 29 2013
From: United Kingdom,
Apartment Share Rental: 3 months

My room was great and the house is really nice and great in terms of location, supermarket, subway, laundry etc. The only downside is the kitchen that gets messy because of too many people using it, but if you agree with the others for cleaning, then it's fine.

The bathroom is your responsibility, shared with one or two others. You need to agree with the landlady the policy about visitors.

Answer by: Roommate Host
Apr 18 2014

Dear Anna,

Thanks for your review; It can be difficult dealing with many personalities, especially when it comes to getting them to value cleanliness. We have notes posted on how and when to recycle and reminding guests to keep the entire place clean for general health and comfort.

We were very happy that you did your best to keep the place tidy and that it was convenient and comfortable for you. On the top floor, where you stayed, 3 or 4 people share a bathroom and on the second floor it is at most 2 people to share a bathroom. Regarding the policy for overnight guests, it depends whether you are staying in one of the smaller rooms or one of the larger rooms.

In the small rooms it is alright to have a visitor stay for a night or two, but if they stay 3 nights or more then it is $50 a week. For the larger rooms, like the one you stayed in, there is a double occupancy rate, so there will be a pro-rated fee for overnight guests.

I hope that this helps to clarify. Overall, I am glad that you enjoyed the room, house, and location!

Review by: Michael A.,
Oct 04 2013
From: United States,
Apartment Share Rental: 3 months

Really great experience. The apartment was is in a great location on a quiet, tree lined street in a well-kept townhouse.

Verbena lives on the ground floor and makes sure to take care of any problems very quickly (the internet was very slow on the top floor, so she had a second router installed and the problem was fixed).

Review by: Luca S.,
May 02 2013
From: Italy,
Apartment Share Rental: 7 months

The room (bedroom with private bathroom) is as described and shown in the pictures. When arrived it was perfectly clean and furnished with sheets and towels.

The room is a kind of studio, private bathroom, fridge, microwave, sofa, dining table and a lot of space.

The position is extremely convenient if you are attending CCNY, its close to two subway stations and in a very quiet and cozy neighborhood.

As drawbacks I will mention the unstable and slow internet connection, the kitchen that is two stairs fly above and the absence of a real common space.

Despite these cons, the room worth its price.

Answer by: New York Customer Service
Aug 20 2013

Thanks to your feedback, the Internet connection is available and working, thank you for sharing your reviews with us!

Review by: Amanda H.,
Jan 30 2013
From: France,
Apartment Share Rental: 4 months

We had a $100 fine because of the garbage and I had to pay a sixth of it but it wasn't my fault. We used the wrong plastic bag.

Because of the roommate. They were very messy and it was always dirty

It was really cool, like the place, it was really well located. The landlord was very nice.

Answer by: New York Customer Service
Aug 20 2013

We greatly appreciate your feedback! New York Habitat will make sure the prospective tenants know about the possible recycling fine. This way it will be disclosed.

The reviews are very helpful for foreigners that sometimes are not aware of the New York rules, thank you so much for sharing your reviews with us!

Review by: Louis P.,
Jan 29 2013
From: France,
Apartment Share Rental: 5 months

Very good relationship with the owner. Strict rules: tiptoe up the old wooden stairs... plus the dog barks each time.

On the whole, nice and respectful roommates to start with... but after some of them left: a new totally disgusting and dirty one moved in (he waited for me to tell the owner he shouldn't leave his beard in the sink, to remove his girlfriend's hair from it, and to empty the bin which I have no doubt are always full of her sanitary towels... but to explain to him that I don't touch that... it depends on the roommates, but it's important to say it for those who have no experience in sharing an apartment, you can meet people like that).

Nice, big bedroom with very useful wardrobes. Hardly any heating at all (very cold this winter... really), windows let all the cold in. The television doesn't work, but hey, it's not a big deal.

There's a hanging electric cable in the bedroom, but that's not a big deal either. Being kind is one thing, providing a service is something else: we pay for something, we should have it without asking for it... there are roommates who had to wait for a long time before they got the Internet but in this bedroom, you get a good wifi signal.

Fridge in the bedroom: that's top notch! Again, very useful storage space.The vacuum cleaner is dead, it sucks nothing... really NOTHING.

Coffee machine was broken by a previous roommate, nothing's replaced... zero equipment (wrecked frying pans, two measly pieces of cutlery), to a point where I didn't use the kitchen for the last and a half months (on top of the other roommate who doesn't clean anything and asks you to let him know if something's wrong... sorry but I have other fish to fry)

Extractor hood is broken. OK to use the bathroom.

To sum up: the rent is too expensive for the location and what it is, admittedly my rating is harsh but impartial (photos). Let's admit that it's a very good option for students at CCNY if you are autonomous since it's a struggle to find a place to rent in NY when you have nothing to start with and then it becomes the easy solution once you're there, you don't necessarily want to spend your time looking for something else.

Answer by: Roommate Host
Jan 08 2014

Hello Louis,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you had a good relationship with the owner. We apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. We wish that you had reached out to us or the owner about any major issues during your stay.

Please note that the cleanliness indeed depends on the roommates you are sharing the space with. We have informed the owner of your concerns so that they can be addressed.

The owner has informed us that the heat is working well. The owner also confirmed that the vacuum and some of the kitchen equipment was broken by past guests. We confirmed however, that there is a broom available for cleaning the floors.

Regarding the price, your rent was very reasonable for an apartment in Manhattan. Hamilton Heights is an up-and-coming area and as you mentioned, the proximity to City College makes this apartment very convenient for many students.

We again apologize that you were disappointed with the situation.

Review by: Sandrine Servent &.,
Oct 22 2012
From: France,
Apartment Share Rental: 6 months

Internet: connection is extremely bad. Some bedrooms do not catch the signal, others only partly, and others still not at all... the owners should fix this... since it is included in the lease... and it isn't normal...

Common area like the kitchen: few kitchen utensils... cutlery... plates... roommates are not pleased.

Bedroom was clean when I arrived. Spacious. Good value for the money.

Although quite uptown, the house is quite well situated: several metro stations, bus...
Owners are OK.

Answer by: New York Customer Service
Dec 11 2012

Thank you for your review, Sandrine. We are happy that you thought you got your money's worth. It is unfortunate that the internet connection was spotty and the kitchen utensils seemingly lacking.

We will certainly encourage the owners to look into this and fix any problem. Indeed, this apartment located in one of the beautiful historical areas of Harlem -- we are glad you enjoyed the location!

Review by: A Roommate,
Aug 26 2011
From: France,
Apartment Share Rental: 2 months

Little contact with the other roommates but friendly relationship overall.

Review by: Lorenzo S.,
Feb 18 2011
From: United States,
Apartment Share Rental: 3 months

last summer you found me an apartment in harlem that was great

Review by: A Roommate,
Feb 01 2011
From: United States,
Apartment Share Rental: 3 months

The owner is very nice. And the apartment share went very smoothly. I can only recommend this room for rent, especially for those who come to NYC on their own.

Review by: A Roommate,
Jan 13 2011
From: Italy,
Apartment Share Rental: 2 months

Wonderful stay in an awesome apartment! The landlady and her daughter are amazing, friendly and helpful. the only thing that should be improved is the bathroom (a little old).

I def recommend this apt: historical neighborhood, close to the train ABCD and even 1, less than 30 mins to midtown.

It's the 3rd time I ask NYHabitat to help me in finding an apt in NYC and never had a problem! good job guys, thanks!

Review by: Sara G.,
Jan 13 2011
From: France,
Apartment Share Rental: 3 months

I've been staying in the house for 3 months. It is a very pleasant house, in a calm area and I really enjoyed this peaceful place in NYC. The roommate is a very nice lady, always eager to help.

However, I would like to stress that the backyard of the house (that appears on the pictures) is not accessible to the tenants and that the shared kitchen is not really as it is described ("On the same floor the roommate will be able to share a large separate kitchen and a open living room. The kitchen has three windows and is equipped with a sink, a fridge with a freezer, a stove, a microwave, a coffee maker, a toaster.") : no coffee maker, no windows and no living room.

Furthermore, I found it very under-equipped. I would advise you to review the description of the house for it to stick more to the reality.

Answer by: New York Customer Service
Jan 31 2011

Further to this review, we contacted the apartment owner who confirmed that roommates no longer have access to the back courtyard.

She also explained the kitchen is stocked with serving ware, silverware, pots, pans and microwave. There is no longer a coffee maker.

Our description has now been modified to include these last updates.

Review by: David A.,
Sep 27 2010
From: Chile,
Apartment Share Rental: 21 days

The room is ok, but in summer is better if I had air conditioning.

Thank you for your service.

Review by: Paolo P.,
Jun 05 2009
From: United States,
Apartment Share Rental: 2 months

The apartment I was staying in in New York is a very nice place, pretty clean and very comfortable. The neighborhood is quite loud but the house is very close to the subway station and this makes it very easy and fast to get to midtown.

The landlord is a very nice person. I really had a pleasant stay there.

About Cookies

This website uses both first party and third party cookies to offer you the best user experience. Please accept these cookies to take advantage of the site's full functionality. If you decline, note that some website features may not work fully (e.g. videos, maps, chat).

I accept I decline