Paris Apartment - 1 Bedroom Rental in Place de la République, Canal Saint Martin - Gare du Nord - Gare de l'Est (PA-2289)

1,250 / month
Agency fees are not included
Need help? Call us:
New York: +1 (212) 255-8018+1 (212) 255-8018 i 9:00am to 6:00pm
New York time
Monday thru Sunday
Saturday & Sunday:
Euro €
  • USD $
  • Euro €
  • U.K. £
  • Aust $
  • Can $
  • ¥en
  • SFranc
start date end date sleeps month information
Apr 23 2024 open 2
information:All utilities included except electric ($100 per month)
All dates and prices are subject to confirmation.
Prices in U.S. Dollars. 1 € = 1.054 USD $ Euros. British Pounds. 1 € = 0.866 U.K. £ Australian Dollars. 1 € = 1.648 Aust $ Canadian Dollars. 1 € = 1.434 Can $ Japanese Yens. 1 € = 157.781 ¥en Swiss Francs. 1 € = 0.963 SFranc
1 Bedroom Apartment Rental in Place de la République, Canal Saint Martin - Gare du Nord - Gare de l'Est (PA-2289)
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom - Sleeps 2

This furnished one bedroom apartment is located close to the Canal Saint Martin in Paris. It is on the fifth and top floor of a building from 1890 with elevator (one floor walk up).

The apartment owes its charm to the white painted walls contrasting with the dark hardwood flooring, its 2,50m high ceilings, the two oeil-de-boeuf windows in the living room. Amenities include among others a washing machine and dyrer, a flat screen TV, microwave in the kitchen and the convenience of air conditioning.

Exposure of this apartment is southeast with a view on Paris roofs and the street.

This one bedroom apartment is located on Boulevard de Magenta close to the République area, as well as the Canal Saint Martin in Paris, which is becoming one of Paris’ favorite areas to live because of its tree lined channel with locks and little bridges. Started under Napoleon 1st and finished in 1825, it was Louis XIV who first imagined this gorgeous channel, remaining one of the most idyllic Parisian landscapes. Just ride along the cycle tracks from Bastille to the Villette district. The Place Sainte-Marthe is still a unique spot of this neighbourhood with many cafés and restaurants. Many more entertainment and dining options can be found nearby, around Place de la République.

Please note: Due to the central location, the apartment can be a bit noisy at times.

  • Cable,
  • TV,
  • Internet,
  • Laundry inside the apartment,
  • Pets not allowed,
  • Smoking not permitted,
  • Elevator
Map: Paris Furnished Rental - Boulevard de Magenta, betw. Rue du Faubourg Saint Martin & Boulevard de Strasbourg 75010 Paris (10th Arrondissement)
subway i These maps/directions are informational only. No representation is made or warranty given as to their content, road conditions or route usability or expeditiousness. User assumes all risk of use. Google Maps, New York Habitat, and their suppliers assume no responsibility for any loss or delay resulting from such use.
  • 4 Train to Château d'Eau Station
  • 4, 5, 7 Trains to Gare de l'Est Station
  • living room
  • kitchen
  • bedroom
  • bathroom
  • other
  • apartment layout
Living room
Features: Window, Cable, Phone, TV, Sofa, Dining table
Features: Open, Fridge, Microwave, Freezer, Toaster
Features: Sheets, Window
Number of beds: 1
Bed size: bed (double)
Features: Shower, WC, Towels

Apartment floor plans in this site are not drawn to scale. They are an indication of the general layout and are intended as a guide only. Nothing contained in them should be considered to be an exact blueprint or statement of fact or warranty.

Ratings & Reviews
1 Bedroom Apartment Rental in Place de la République, Canal Saint Martin - Gare du Nord - Gare de l'Est (PA-2289)
Overall Apartment Rating (10) ? Overall Apartment Rating - The apartment rating is an average of each individual rating the apartment has received (not an average of the categories' ratings)
4.2 stars

The number in parenthesis is the number of customers who have rated this apartment

Apartment Experience (10) ? Apartment Experience - Clients' general impression of the apartment including, value and general comments and feelings about the rental
Location (10) ? Location - Clients' rating of the location of this apartment
Cleanliness (10) ? Cleanliness - Clients' rating of the cleanliness of the apartment
Condition, Comfort, Amenities (10) ? Condition, Comfort, Amenities - Clients' ratings of the details of the apartment including appliances and equipment, furniture and linens, size and available space, decoration/style, comfort of the apartment
Building (10) ? Building - Clients' rating of the building that the apartment is in including: Building appearance and condition, doorman/concierge (when applicable), access to apartment, extra amenities such as car park etc (when applicable)
Quiet/Loud (10) ? Quiet/Loud - Clients' rating of how quiet the apartment is, the greater the number of stars, the quieter the property. Please note that noise levels are especially subjective and can vary
Apartment Reviews (9)
Review by: Carolina D.,
Aug 18 2023
From: Spain,
Apartment Rental: 4 months

In one word... Incredible!

Review by: Kennen S.,
Jan 09 2023
Apartment Rental: 2 months

This apartment is incredible. If you think the photos look nice, the apartment is 1,000 times better. I needed a place for seven weeks and this fit the bill perfectly. It was just myself and I never felt crowded. The apartment is well-stocked and has everything one could need. The bed and pillows were comfortable, the water heat and pressure were excellent, and the kitchen is a great size. I was worried about the size but I never had any problems when cooking. The fridge was great and even included a mini freezer. The living space was great: the TV was nice and the couch very comfortable. The one thing that I felt would have made the apartment better would be a dedicated desk. There is a high table but it is hard to use as a desk as it can be wobbly. It isn't something that would dissuade me from staying here again however. Another issue that has been brought up in other reviews is the noise: it can be a bit noisy due to the proximity of the fire station (I believe that is what it is) but the windows are a big help and block most of the noise. I came from a very quiet suburban neighborhood in the US, so it took me a couple of days to adjust but after that the noise wasn't an issue. The view from the apartment is impeccable--never in a million years did I think that I would stay in an apartment where you could see the Pantheon, Centre Pompidou, AND the Sacre-Coeur. Watching the traffic in the intersection below was also a nice pasttime at night. The apartment's location is excellent: great service with the Metro and close enough to Gare du Nord to enjoy the RER B to go to the airports. There is also a good selection of grocery stores nearby, including one across the street that had an excellent selection. It is also close to a wonderful boulangerie (Le Pain des Copains). The owners were extremely helpful, responsive, and pleasant to work with. Check-in and check-out were very smooth. I could not recommend this apartment enough.

Review by: Ike B.,
Jan 30 2022
From: United States,
Apartment Rental: 3 months

A sexy little place in an ideal location; sunny and comfortably appointed.

Review by: Molly J.,
Apr 29 2016
From: Australia,
Apartment Rental: 4 months

it was very Parisian and very cute but it was falling apart.
The apartment is located away from the main tourist districts but was still a direct metro line to our university. It is also only a few minutes from the canal, surrounded by cheap eats and funky bars. That said, I got harassed by a few men walking home from gare de l'est on multiple occasions at night. This is what you expect in a lit of Paris.
The apartment was "clean". It was just a bit shabby because I think it had been renovated cheaply. Tiles had started to come off, there were stains on the couch, carpet and mattress.
As per above. Also the sink kept getting blocked, the stove top barely worked and the kettle broke. All little things that did not change out overall happiness with the apartment itself.
We were in a cute attic space, there was a lift if you were too tired to take the stairs, rarely spoke to neighbours. Occasionally some homeless people/refugees were sleeping in the lobby and on our landing. This seems extreme looking back although at the time it didn't seem quite as strange... It was winter and they were cold.
We lived a block from a fire station/ambulance centre so we would be woken up to sirens all night. This was part of the experience living in the city so it did not worry us too much but after a while got frustrating.

Overall we have so many fond memories of our apartment in Paris and would happily stay there again. Life in Paris just takes some getting used to - and once you have the hang of it, you're gone!!

Answer by: Apartment Owner
May 04 2016

Dear Molly, Thank you for your comments, this helps us to maintain a high level of quality to meet our guests' needs. Of course, we are going to replace defective appliances and do a thorough house cleaning which seems necessary according to your comments. It is true that there are many bars as well as very lively and nice places next to the canal. I am sorry to hear that you were bothered at night, these things can happen in big cities, you should always be careful. Regarding homeless people, we regularly change the building access code in order to avoid this. It is important to wait for the street door to shut completely so that nobody can go inside after you left. But I am sure you have been cautious about it... Regarding the noise and the fire station, Paris is indeed a big and animated city day and night. Were you sleeping in the living room? Normally, if you shut the door between the living room and the bedroom as well as the double glazed window in the bedroom, the room become very quiet. However, it is true, soundproofing in the living room is not as good, so if you are a light sleeper, it could be complicated to sleep well in this room.

Sincerely Jean

Review by: Francesca N.,
Jan 14 2015
From: Italy,
Apartment Rental: 4 months

I lived there for four months and overall it was a quite positive experience. The location is strategic and close to 3 train lines; plus, it's close to several bus stops (there is night bus service). Right across the street there is a supermarket. The apartment is not big but big enough for two people, especially for a couple. The kitchen is fully equipped and there are cleaning supplies. The landlords have always been nice and helpful; another positive aspect.

Review by: Courtney O.,
Apr 30 2014
From: France,
Apartment Rental: 6 months

I rented this apartment for six months during the fall and winter seasons. I was a little nervous about renting without first seeing the property, but the previous reviews convinced me it would be a good choice. I lived here alone as a 22 year old American female and felt very comfortable!

The apartment was lovely and I felt I had enough space and all of the amenities I needed. Coming from living in America and knowing the amount of space you would get for this price in rent, I was a bit shocked at the size at first as it felt a bit small. I realized, however that for Paris this apartment is just the right size. I could fit all of my clothes, and shoes (which is always a bonus for me!) and I didn't feel overly crowded when I had guests stay, or people over.

My favorite part of this apartment was the light and amount of windows. For me, natural light and great views are very important. The apartment gets just the right amount of sun on nice days, and opening the windows allows you to hear the Paris streets around you. You will simply love the views!

The bed and the pull-out couch were both very comfortable. All of my guests said they slept very well on the pull-out bed, which is surprising because they are normally just awful.

All of the appliances in the apartment were up-to-date. I am not someone who cooks, however there seemed to be enough cooking appliances to meet all of your needs. The wifi was excellent and never failed me, which made it easy to get work done. This apartment also has a music player to plug your iPhone into which was really nice for hosting.

Just across the street is a market, making grocery shopping very easy. There are metro stops very close to the apartment, which makes getting around an absolute breeze! the only negative thing I have to say about this apartment, honestly is that if you walk in the opposite direction of Gare d'lest, the neighborhood can be a bit concerning. I always felt safe around the flat, however. At the location, I never had a hard time finding a taxi (which is a great thing in Paris), and there are plenty of bars and restaurants very close by at Republique.

The landlord is very sweet and extremely helpful. This was really nice because a good landord can be hard to come by. He checked in a couple of times via email to see how things were going, and if I ever had a question, it was answered almost immediately. On top of that, I made a mistake with rent when I first moved in and he was incredibly understanding and gracious about it. That never happens!!

I really had a great experience in this flat and would recommend it to anyone. It really was a dream come true!

Review by: Chelsea B.,
Jul 01 2013
From: United States,
Apartment Rental: 29 days

I had a pleasant stay at this apartment. My time wasn't spectacular, but as I was often gone during the day, I simply needed a place to lay my head at night. I slept on the pullout couch in the living room, which was quite comfortable, while my roommate took the small bedroom. The apartment itself was dusty when we arrived. It needs a good deep cleaning before the next tenant checks in. I did clean while I was there, but lacked the necessary equipment (stronger vacuum, rags, surface and floor cleaner, etc) to be as thorough as the apartment needs. There was black mold in the bathroom that I couldn't even attempt to remove.

The view from the small living room/kitchenette was astounding. Paris was laid out in front of me when I went to sleep every night. The neighborhood is loud, but I slept soundly regardless.

The few kitchen appliances are in decent condition, though I had to wash every dish before I used it--lots of dust and the occasional food particle. A shelf above the sink fell down in the middle of the night during my second week. Scared me half to death and spread glass shards into the sink, onto the floor, and into my bed. Thankfully I was not charged for this. I would advise a new shelf as soon as possible. Maybe one with screws instead of slips of paper securing it to the bracket.

The building itself was beautiful. Historic 18th century building with spiral staircase (as most low rises in Paris have). I was disappointed that the elevator broke just a few days into my stay.

The apartment is the very last door on the top floor (5th story in Europe, 6th in the US) and the stairs are exhausting.

Answer by: Apartment Owner
Jul 10 2013

Thank you for your review and above all for choosing our apartment for your stay in Paris. Your comments help us optimize the apartment and we have just decided to change cleaning ladies.

We took the opportunity to take stock of the cleaning products. Everything has been put right so the apartment is clean and for the rest. The apartment is equipped with double glazing. In spite of that, if you're a light sleeper and sleep in the sitting room, you can hear the cars on the boulevard.

I am really sorry about the shelf and the fright you must have had in the middle of the night. Please be aware it has been removed.

As for the elevator, if a problem occurs, the company under contract with the building takes action within 24 hours to fix it. Be aware the other renters in the building demand that it is fixed as soon as possible since the stairs become tough for everyone in such instances.

I still hope you enjoyed your stay with us.

Review by: Catherine I.,
Jun 17 2013
From: United States,
Apartment Rental: 4 months

I loved the apartment, very nice, homy, and cozy. The owner Stale is the best landlord I've ever dealt with. Wonderful people. The location of the apartment is great, very close to Gare de l'Est and Gare du Nord.

Review by: Katelyn K.,
Oct 17 2012
From: United States,
Apartment Rental: 2 months

The apartment was great. It had everything I needed for a long-term stay. The owners were friendly and very helpful; anytime I had a problem with so much as a lightbulb they would come right over and fix it. The apartment is a bit smaller than it appears in the photos, but again it had everything one person needs.

My only 2 (minor) problems were the location and the quietness. When I arrived I learned that the apartment was very close to the new red-light district AND a hospital. Sirens go off at all hours of the night, and I felt uncomfortable being out late.

Answer by: Apartment Owner
Nov 06 2012

The bedroom is very quiet as it has a small double glazed window. There is double glazing in the living room, too, because we think it is important. As for safety, the neighborhood is more a family residential area close to the Marais and Canal Saint Martin. It is the first time we get comments about sirens. Should this happen again, we'll discuss it and see what can be done.

Katelyn, thank you for your review and for choosing to stay in our apartment.

About Cookies

This website uses both first party and third party cookies to offer you the best user experience. Please accept these cookies to take advantage of the site's full functionality. If you decline, note that some website features may not work fully (e.g. videos, maps, chat).

I accept I decline